



# 2023 Drama Competition

MAY 18-20, 2023 LEXINGTON, KY

FIRST PLACE
NATIONAL AWARD:

\$15,000

OTHER CASH AWARDS WILL BE PRESENTED

# National Society of Arts & Letters Drama Competition

May 18 - May 20, 2023 | Lexington, Kentucky



# **National Competition Rules**

- 1. Competition participants (hereafter referred to as 'actor' or 'actors') are expected to demonstrate a high level of talent and aptitude as well as career potential. While an actor may possess representation through a talent agency or management company, they may not be a member of any of the performance unions (e.g., SAG/AFTRA, AEA, AGMA) at the time of the competition.
- 2. The Drama Competition is open to actors who are at least 18 years-old but have not yet reached their 30th birthday as of May 19, 2023. Proof of birthdate must be supplied. A copy of a birth certificate, passport or state-issued ID may serve as proof.
- 3. Actors must be lawful residents of the United States at the time of the competition. A social security number, passport, and/or visa documentation may serve as proof.
- 4. Actors may not be the immediate family of any NSAL member involved in competition decision-making at the chapter or national levels.
- 5. Actors must have competed in and been declared the sole first-place winner of an NSAL Chapter Competition prior to entering the National Competition. The actor may choose a chapter in the area where they reside or where they are enrolled in a college, university, or acting school. If there is no chapter in their hometown or in their place of residence, actors may enter the competition of the nearest chapter. Please see Chapter Competition Contacts on the final page.
- 6. Actors may not compete in more than one chapter competition.

- Actors must be present in Lexington, Kentucky for the entire period from May 18 May 20. Actors must attend the orientation session and member meet-and-greet held on May 18, the competition on May 19, and the Master Class and Awards Dinner on May 20.
- 8. Expenses related to the competition are the responsibility of the sponsoring chapter.
- 9. The 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners of the National Competition will perform their selections at the Awards Ceremony on May 20, 2023.
- 10. The meaning and interpretation of the above rules, along with local chapter and contestant rules, will be determined by NSAL. If such meaning or interpretation is unclear or contested, the decision of NSAL National will be final and binding.

# **Performance Requirements**

- 1. Actors must present three memorized monologues, one from each of the categories below. The selections must be from published or produced plays. Proof of publication or production will be required. Participants are encouraged to select a variety of comedic and dramatic pieces as actors will be adjudicated on their emotional, intellectual, physical, and vocal ranges. Please note that while some playwrights' work may span from Modern to 20th Century or from 20th Century to Contemporary, actors are encouraged to follow the time periods offered and create variety within their selections.
- In their application, actors must include the scripts of the scenes from which their monologues have been selected, as well as the plays' publication or production information. Actors must also identify their character name and monologue page numbers for each selection.
- 3. Upon entering the stage, actors will slate with their participant number, the title of the play, playwright, and the name of the character of ALL selections in the order of performance. This slate will not count towards the performance time.
- 4. The total performance time may not exceed ten (10) minutes total time for all selections. Transition time will be included in the timing.
- 5. A chair will be available on stage. Hand props, costumes or recorded sound are not permitted.
- 6. Actors must wear non-restrictive black clothing and shoes.

# **Monologue Selection Categories**

## **Category 1, Classical to Modern Theatre**

(Time Period: Greek/Roman to 1920/1930s)

#### **Category Goals:**

- Demonstrate an intellectual understanding of the heightened language.
- Sustain the vocal and imaginative energy through the large thoughts of the text.
- Display the ability to embody the given circumstances of the different time period.

## Examples of possible playwrights:

Aeschylus	Oliver Goldsmith	George Bernard Shaw
Aristophanes	Henrik Ibsen	William Brinsley Sheridan
Aphra Behn	Ben Jonson	Sophocles
Anton Chekhov	Christopher Marlowe	August Strindberg
William Congreve	Molière	John Millington Synge
Noel Coward	Luigi Pirandello	John Webster
Euripides	Plautus	Oscar Wilde
Jean Giraudoux	William Shakespeare	

## Category 2, 20th Century

(Time Period: 1940-2000)

## **Category Goals:**

- Display an understanding of the given circumstances of the play and character.
- Demonstrate the depth of emotional and imaginative choices.
- Display the ability to create strong physical and vocal choices.

## Examples of possible playwrights:

Edward Albee Samuel Beckett Bertolt Brecht Caryl Churchill Christopher Durang Michael Frayn John Guare Lorraine Hansberry	Tina Howe Langston Hughes Eugene Ionesco Adrienne Kennedy Tony Kushner Terrance McNally Arthur Miller Neil Simon	Yasmina Reza Peter Shaffer Ntozake Shange Jon Patrick Shanley Sam Shephard Wendy Wasserstein Tennessee Williams August Wilson
Lorraine Hansberry Lillian Hellman	Neil Simon Tom Stoppard	August Wilson Lanford Wilson
Beth Henley	David Rabe	Paula Vogel

## Category 3, Contemporary

(Time Period: 2001-Present)

#### Category Goals:

Alabama – Birmingham

- In addition to the performance goals of the previous categories, contemporary selections should demonstrate the actor's range, identity and/or artistic vision.
- Non-traditional works or devised pieces are acceptable as long as they meet the published/produced criteria.

#### Examples of playwrights could include:

Annie Baker Quiara Alegría Hudes Tarell Alvin McCraney Nilo Cruz David Henry Hwang Martin McDonagh Lisa D'Amour James liames Dominique Morriseau Jackie Siblies Drury Branden Jacobs-Jenkins Lynn Nottage Robert O'Hara Richard Greenberg Rajiv Joseph Suzan-Lori Parks Stephen Adly Guirgis Moises Kaufman Katori Hall Young Jean Lee Sarah Ruhl Jeremy O. Harris Tracy Letts

Ike Holter Nancy García Loza

# **Chapter Competition Contacts**

Illinois

Dane Peterson Sarah Wigley <a href="mailto:swjohn@illinois.edu">danenyc@gmail.com</a> swjohn@illinois.edu

ArizonaIndianaGail FisherJohn Armstronggbfisher@gmail.comjohn@seeconstellation.org

Arkansas
Harold Dean
Twyla Martins
deanharold@sbcglobal.net
trmarts@mac.com

FloridaNew JerseyShari UpbinJudy Martorellishariupbin@gmail.comsmartorielly@verizon.net

HawaiiNew York - Greater NYGary MorrisMargaret Johnsongmorris@chaminade.edumjohnson12339@gmail.com

David Rexroad davidpburg@outlook.com

Ohio River Valley

Pennsylvania
Mindy Rossi-Stabler
mindystabler@gmail.com

St. Louis
Adelia Parker-Castro
adeliaparkercastro@gmail.com

Washington, DC
Ronald Ivey
ronaldjivey@gmail.com

For general inquiries, contact the National Chairs: <a href="NSALDramaComp2023@gmail.com">NSALDramaComp2023@gmail.com</a>