

Sparks Court, Littlehampton, West Sussex, BN17 5ES | 01903 713217 | www.lbsc.org.uk | hello@lbsc.org.uk

Littlehampton Badminton & Squash Club Minutes of the AGM 20th May 2021

		Action
1	Apologies for absence Ashley Squires, Clayton Hutchings, Julia Logan.	
2	Introduction James Klanczkowski (Chair) welcomed members to the meeting and advised that the meeting would be comprised of members attending both virtually and physically. In order for the meeting to run as efficiently as possible, members had been previously advised of a number of protocols to be followed which he reiterated. He advised members that there was a quorum and that the proceedings would be recorded.	
3	To receive the Committee's Report for the past year The Chair summarised the Committee's report that had previously been circulated. In particular it highlighted the activities of the Committee for the prior two years due to the fact that attempts to hold an AGM in the previous year had been thwarted by the Covid-19 crisis which had caused the club to be closed or have its activities severely restricted during the period from March 2020 until the present date.	
4	To receive and approve the accounts for the year ending 31.08.19 and 31.08.20 James Klanczkowski (Treasurer) summarised the Treasurer's report which had previously been circulated with the two years of accounts. Gordon McIntyre (GM) questioned why there was a 14.55% increase in staff costs. Treasurer advised that this was due to an increase in the minimum wage and additional social functions. Steve Twigg (ST) added that Clayton Hutchings used to volunteer for bar duty but this role had changed during the pandemic. The accounts were approved by 28 registered voting members and 10 abstained.	
5	Elect the Officers of the Club The following were nominated and elected as officers of the Club with the registered votes. There were no other nominations:	

Position	Name	Yes	No	Abstain
Chairman	James Klanczkowski	36	2	
Vice Chairman	Richard Jones	28	8	2
Treasurer	James Klanczkowski	38		
Secretary	Nick Cochrane	38		

6 Elect Members of the Committee

The following were nominated and elected to the Committee. There were no other nominations.

Position	tion Name		No	Abstain
Ctte Member	Elissa Seddon	27	7	4
Ctte Member	Stan Ball	36	1	1
Ctte Member	Steve Bridgeman	35	2	1
Ctte Member	Trisha John	34	2	2
Ctte Member John Shepherd		33	3	2

7 Other Propositions submitted for consideration None

8 Questions and Answers

GM questioned the cost of the booking system and whether it was required. Nick Cochrane **(NC)** responded that system we are using is a club management system but that we are only using the booking system at the current time. It is currently on a free trial but will cost £40 a month from 1st July. Members are currently required to pre-book courts and this enables them to do this themselves. Google sheets required a volunteer to take the booking and update the sheets manually.

Going forward, those members that do not rely on sessions, particularly squash players, will no longer have to wait for the office to open or attend the club to fill in the booking sheet. **NC** also advised that the system had identified individuals who were attending sessions but who had not renewed their membership.

ST wanted to know why the members had not been consulted on the subject before it was implemented and asked if a cost/benefit analysis had been carried out. NC stated that the Committee would be asking the members what they think of the booking system but emphasised that a debate was needed on what was involved in the management of the club. He advised that a new Constitution had been under review for over two years and that would be included in an EGM which would be needed to discuss membership fees for next year. This was likely to take place in July. The new constitution would need to be approved by the members and should clarify the authority of the Committee and how it operates. Nigel Crawley (NCr) expressed his satisfaction with the new booking system. Dave Clark (DC) suggested the committee should emphasise the savings in admin costs not only from the booking system but other savings down the line that will potentially emanate from an integrated club management system.

The meeting was closed at 8.40pm and thanks were given to Andy Hammond who hosted the meeting.

Signed	١. ل	Clarez	lowski	Chair
olylleu	— , ,	-www.c	0,0,00	 Ullali

AGM 2021

Attendees

Physically Present	Virtually Present	Postal Vote
James Klanczkowski	Andy Hammond*	Josh Barnes
Richard Jones	Paul Gray	Liam Goodley
Nick Cochrane	Nigel Crawley	Peter Horne
John Shepherd	Jon Klanczkowski	Mark Miller
Elissa Seddon	Dave Clark	Sally Gray
Steve Bridgeman	Stephen Kelley	Nancy Turner
Trisha John	Mike Cooke	Nigel Turner
Stan Ball		Nigel Lee
John Chard		Alistair Evans
Steve Twigg		Chris Jones
Clive Abbott		Graham Harmour
Derek Fish		Mitsuyo Kondo
Gordon McIntyre		Karen Chapman-Gain
Alan Soong		Jackie Horne
		Mary Klanczkowski
		Graham Potts
		Melissa Hauffe

^{*}Vote by post as Zoom host not included in Zoom poll.