

PRESENTS

# THE ANNUAL BANQUET AND AWARDS CELEBRATION

Saturday, the 13th of May, 2023 OSU Portland Center 555 SW Morrison St Portland, Oregon

### PROGRAM

Master of Ceremonies- John Tibbetts

Welcome & Recognition of Sponsors/OCEE Board

Jon Chesbro – Board Member

### Lunch

**Keynote Address** Tobias Read – Oregon State Treasurer

#### **Presentation of Student Awards**

National Economics Challenge Stock Market Game Investwrite

Presentation of OCEE Economics Teacher of the Year Award 2023 Amy K. Fifth–Lince – Liberty High School

**Concluding Remarks** 

## NATIONAL ECONOMICS CHALLENGE

2022–23 The Adam Smith Division High School Statewide Winners

> **First Place:** Lake Oswego High School **Teacher:** Daniel Eizyk

#### **Second Place:**

Westview High School **Teacher:** Thomas Lefor

Year Long 2022–23 Middle School Statewide Winners

> First Place: Riverdale Grade School Teacher: Todd Migchelbrink

Second Place: Crossler Middle School Teacher: Cab Searcy

Third Place: Riverdale Grade School Teacher: Todd Migchelbrink

Year Long 2022–23 High School Statewide Winners

> First Place: Phoenix High School Teacher: Celine Farrimond

Second Place: Phoenix High School Teacher: Celine Farrimond

Third Place: Sandy High School Teacher: Todd Dejong

### Fall 2022 Elementary School Winners

First Place: Hillsboro School District Teacher: Deb Luther

Second Place: Hillsboro School District Teacher: Deb Luther

#### Fall 2022 Middle School Winners

First Place:

Winterhaven Middle School **Teacher:** Pete Madden

Second Place: Clara Brownell Middle School Teacher: Ian Coyle

Third Place: Winterhaven Middle School Teacher: Pete Madden

Fall 2022 High School Winners

First Place: Roseburg High School Teacher: Tasha Stevens Garcia

Second Place: Roseburg High School Teacher: Tasha Stevens Garcia

Third Place: Roseburg High School Teacher: Tasha Stevens Garcia

Spring 2023 Middle School Winners

> First Place: Ninety-One School Teacher: Tanya Boss

Second Place: Cascades Academy Teacher: Adriana Boylan

Third Place: Whitford Middle School Teacher: Andrew Gagnier

Spring 2023 High School Winners

First Place: Ida B. Wells-Barnett High School Teacher: Joshua Winicki

#### **Second Place:**

Ida B. Wells–Barnett High School **Teacher:** Joshua Winicki

#### **Third Place:**

Irrigon Junior/Senior High School **Teacher:** Erin Meyers

# INVESTWRITE CHALLENGE

**Teacher:** Christine Muggli

School:

Beaverton Academy of Science and Engineering



# OREGON ECONOMICS TEACHER OF THE YEAR

Amy Fifth–Lince is the Department Chair for Social Studies in Liberty high school where she leads students in learning Economics, Civics, and Introductory Law. As a life–long learner and avid teacher Amy deems that successful tutelage begins with the creation of opportunities. In imparting this mantra, Amy is dedicated to giving her students tools to understand personal finance and economic concepts to enhance their success.



In addition to her core teaching repertoire, Amy fosters student engagement by spearheading the school's Community Service and Mock Trial programs, where students learn about organization, public service, and law.

As a first-generation college student from Pennsylvania, Amy understands the importance of enhancing each student's realization of their own potential. To meet these goals, she has sought partnership with Oregon Tech to offer dual credit in her Economics classes, as well as the Oregon Community Foundation, and Classroom Law Project to enhance student curricula. In addition to her teaching, Amy is a GSA student advisor, member of the Center for Geography Teaching in Oregon, and associate of Liberty's Equity Climate and Culture team. Her previous recognitions include Oregon's State Treasury Financial Empowerment Award, and nomination for the Crystal Apple.

#### **Financial Support Provided By**

### The Adam Smith Supporter (\$5000+)





### John Maynard Keynes Supporter (\$2500-\$4999)





#### David Ricardo Supporter (\$500-\$2499)







 $\mathrm{VISTA}$  | capital partners

## **OnPoint** COMMUNITY CREDIT UNION

#### **Special Thanks**

Lorraine Thayer

Glen Goland

John Tibbetts

Jon Chesbro

Kyle Rutherford

Ron Eiseman

Ted Scheinman

Tom Potiowsky

Mahal Miles

**Invest in Girls** A PROGRAM OF THE COUNCIL FOR ECONOMIC EDUCATION

**Partners** 

