

Phone: (07) 3205 0555 Our Ref: 69814580 Date: 5 July 2024

Phae Tiny Home Expo Organiser

By email: phae@tinyhomesexpo.com.au

Dear Phae,

Adopt a Tiny House policy

Thank you for your email to the Mayor on 17 May 2024 regarding Council policy on Tiny Homes. The Mayor has asked me to respond to you directly. As a Planner, this matter falls into my area of responsibility.

Secondary dwellings and Short-Term accommodation are included in our Planning Scheme to provide affordable housing options that are required to be certified by a building certifier to ensure that they meet the requirements of the Queensland Development Code.

The provisions for Temporary Homes are included in Council's Temporary Homes Local Law that was adopted in December 2023. With reference to Temporary Accommodation within the City of Moreton Bay area, below is a link to the local laws pertaining to temporary accommodation. It is my understanding that any application for a temporary accommodation permit is made directly to publicspacepermits@moretonbay.qld.gov.au

Temporary Homes Local Law 2023 - City of Moreton Bay

The provisions of the local law are relatively restrictive and limit temporary accommodation to a maximum of 42 days within any 12-month period. Any longer-term occupation of a Tiny Home would need to meet the secondary dwelling provisions of the Moreton Bay Regional Planning Scheme and the requirements of the Building Act including Building and Plumbing Certification. Further, there is no other alternative, if the Tiny Home was on wheels, as a registered vehicle, as permanent occupation would also trigger the requirements of the Queensland Development Code and the Building Act.

Being a relatively new local law, it is my understanding that there are no projects currently before Council for these provisions to be reviewed or amended.

For further information please contact Tina Maltby-Wells (Coordinator - Streamlined Assessment) on (07) 5433 2915 or email tina.maltby-wells@moretonbay.qld.gov.au

Yours sincerely,

In all by- we Tina Maltby-Wells

Coordinator - Planning Assessment (Streamline)

Development Services

CC: Cr Peter Flannery, Mayor City of Moreton Bay

Cr Brooke Savige, Division 1

Cr Mark Booth, Division 2

Cr Adam Hain, Division 3

Cr Jodie Shipway, Division 4

Cr Sandra Ruck, Division 5

Cr Karl Winchester, Division 6

Cr Yvonne Barlow, Division 7

Cr Jim Moloney, Division 8

Cr Cath Tonks, Division 9

Cr Matt Constance, Division 10

Cr Darren Grimwade, Division 11

Cr Tony Latter, Division 12