

Chicago Irish Brotherhood



C.I.B. RECORD BREAKING FR. FLANAGAN SPIRIT AWARDS

The Chicago Irish Brotherhood hosted the first ever Fr. Flanagan Spirit Award on Saturday, April 27 to benefit Boys Town of Chicago and the festive evening shattered all records of fun and fundraising.

The night was highlighted by the contributions of Cook County Sheriff
Tom Dart, who just days before the event was named one of TIME Magazine's 100
Most Influential People in the World.
Sheriff Dart was there from the beginning of the planning of this important gala by agreeing to be the Honorary Chairman.
Cook County's hard working and heroic Sheriff has taken a stand against immoral evictions and has gracefully shouldered the burden of running one of the United States' largest jails.

The C.I.B. is honored to have Sheriff

Dart associated with our mission of "Helping others through friendship."

And helping Boys Town of Chicago will come in the form of a C.I.B. check for \$21,000 to help fund much needed programs provided by the Boys Town satellite program in Chicago's Back of the Yards Neighborhood.

The evening kicked off with a blessing by Boys Town of Chicago's Fr. Bruce Wellems and was capped off by a humbling speech by the first ever Fr. Flanagan Spirit Award winner Mr. Billy Lawless. Mr. Lawless is a tireless champion of immigration rights and a successful Chicago restaurateur.

Boys Town of Chicago began operations in 2007 with generous support of Chicago Mayor Richard M. Daley and



Tim Egan & Sheriff Tom Dart

the Archdiocese of Chicago.

Programs are provided for kids on the front lines of child abuse, gang activity, drug use and violence.

The star studded night included attendance by Irish Counsel General Martin Rouine, Boys Town Board Chairman Paul Lopez, and the event was Co-chaired by Chicago Police Department Commander Hector Rodriguez.

A "Thank You" list is available on the C.I.B. website: www.theCIB.org.



C.I.B. Chairman Tim Egan, Boys Town of Chicago Exec. Dir. Fr. Bruce Wellems, Cook County Sheriff Tom Dart, Fr. Flanagan Spirit Award Winner Mr. Billy Lawless.



Andrea Bielski, Sue Rodriguez, Spirit Award Co-Chairman CPD Commander Hector Rodriguez and Adalbert Bielski.

www.theClB.org