## Joint House Resolution 122-05-08-2024

## Twenty-Eighth Congress of the Republic of Texas Proposed Resolution for an amendment to Article 1 Section 6 of the Constitution

Sec. 1. Be it resolved by the senate and the house of representatives of the republic of Texas in Congress assembled, under the Declaration of Emergency for the protection of the people of Texas, the following amendment be enacted within the election process due to threats imposed by an invasion of unlawful immigrants crossing the borders of the republic of Texas, the presence of domestic terrorists operating within the republic of Texas government that interfered with the 2023 election that disenfranchised Texians of their right to vote in the 2023 election, the theft of the republic of Texas website and other media applications and a coup to overthrow the government of the republic of Texas.

Sec. 2. Be it further resolved to achieve protection for the Texian people who are domiciled on the lands of the republic of Texas that the following actions be taken under this Declaration of Emergency of amending the constitution of the republic of Texas with the objective of this amendment being to promote stability in the republic of Texas government by increasing the qualifications through requiring the speaker of the house to have been actively involved in Congress for at least one term.

Sec. 3. Be it further resolved, as is currently written in the Constitution; Article 1 Section 6. The house of representatives shall choose their speaker and other officers, and shall have the sole power of impeachment.

Sec. 4. Be it further resolved the following amendment to the Constitution, Article 1 Section 6, be enacted to read as follows:

The house of representatives shall choose their speaker, who shall have actively served at least one term in Congress and other officers, and shall have the sole power of impeachment.

## Joint House Resolution issued for emergency reading 06/24/2024 Paul Emmons Speaker for the House of Representatives Engrossed by the House of Representatives Billy D. Ford President for the Senate

Donna Cartwright

President of the Republic of Texas

Engrossed by the Senate \_\_\_\_/\_\_\_/2024