## CANADA'S GOLDEN SHEAF AWARD WINNERS 1986

## BEST PRODUCTION OF THE FESTIVAL BEST DRAMA OVER 30 MINUTES BEST SCRIPT

"IKWE"
TIME: 58 MINUTES
DIRECTOR: NORMA BAILEY
NATIONAL FILM BOARD

### **BEST PICTURE EDITING**

Lara Mazer "IKWE"

## **SUPERCHANNEL BEST SCRIPT CASH AWARD OF \$1000**

Wendy Lill "IKWE"

### **BEST ANIMATION PRODUCTION**

"TABLES OF CONTENT"
TIME: 8 MINUTES
DIRECTOR: WENDY TILBY

### **BEST DOCUMENTARY OVER 30 MINUTES**

"LA FAMILIA LATINA"
TIME: 57 MINUTES
DIRECTOR: GERMAN GUTIERREZ
NATIONAL FILM BOARD

### **BEST DOCUMENTARY UNDER 30 MINUTES**

"RETURN TO DRESDEN"
TIME: 28 MINUTES
DIRECTOR: MARTIN DUCKWORTH
NATIONAL FILM BOARD

### **BEST DRAMA UNDER 30 MINUTES**

"THE CONCERT STAGES OF EUROPE"
TIME: 24 MINUTES
DIRECTOR: GILES WALKER
ATLANTIS FILMS LTD/NATIONAL FILM BOARD

### BEST EXPERIMENTAL PRODUCTION

"ON LAND OVER WATER"
TIME: 60 MINUTES
DIRECTOR: RICHARD KERR

### **BEST FINE ARTS PRODUCTION**

"LE REVE DE VOLER"
TIME: 50 MINUTES
DIRECTOR: HELEN DOYLE
PRODUCTIONS VENT D'EST

### **BEST HEALTH/MEDICINE PRODUCTION**

"AIDS, A FAMILY EXPERIENCE"
TIME: 35 MINUTES
DIRECTOR: ROBIN WEATHERSTONE
WEATHERSTONE PRODUCTIONS INC.

### **BEST INSTRUCTIONAL/EDUCATIONAL**

"SCIENCE FAIR KIDS"
TIME: 20 MINUTES
DIRECTOR: MICHAEL MIRUS
NEW SCIENCE FILMS

### **BEST NATURE/ENVIRONMENT**

"ISLANDS AT THE EDGE"
TIME: 60 MINUTES
DIRECTOR: JAMES MURRAY
CBC

# BEST PRODUCTION FOR CHILDREN QUEEN CITY JUNIOR FILM SOCIETY AWARD \$500

"OWL/TV" (EPISODE 4) TIME: 28 MINUTES OWL TV

### **BEST PROMOTIONAL PRODUCTION**

"SASKEXPO 86 - WELCOME"
TIME: 12 MINUTES
DIRECTOR: LARRY BAUMAN
CAMERA WEST FILM ASSOC. LTD.

### **BEST PUBLIC AFFAIRS PRODUCTION**

"STEPHEN HAWKING'S UNIVERSE"
TIME: 28 MINUTES
DIRECTOR: DAVID CHERNIAK
CBC

### **BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY**

Richard Leiterman, Curtis Peterson "HERMAN BUHL"S – NANGA PARBAT"

### **BEST SOUND EDITING**

Robin Leigh, Jane Tattersal

"HERMAN BUHL'S - NANGA PARBAT"
TIME 47 MINUTES
DIRECTOR: DON SHEBIB
WACKO PRODUCTIONS LTD.

# BEST DIRECTION BEST PERFORMANCE

Kim Yaroshevskaya

"SONIA"
TIME: 58 MINUTES
DIRECTOR: PAULE BAILLARGEON
NATIONAL FILM BOARD

### **BEST ORIGINAL MUSIC SCORE**

Michael Baker, Charles Wilkinson "THE EMERGING NORTH"

## **CERTIFICATE OF MERIT**

"THE EMERGING NORTH" TIME: 10 MINUTES DIRECTOR: ALAN BOOTH YELLOWKNIFE FILMS

## **SPECIAL JURY AWARD**

"LINDA JOY"
TIME: 25 MINUTES
DIRECTOR: BILL MACGILLIVRAY/LINDA BUSBY
PICTURE PLANT LTD.

### **CERTIFICATES OF MERIT**

"LE BROS DE LA CLASSE"
TIME: 27 MINUTES
DIRECTOR: JEAN BOURBONNAIS
SPIRAFILM

"BLUE SNAKE"
TIME: 60 MINUTES
DIRECTOR: NIV FICHMAN
RHOMBUS MEDIA INC.

"THE PRICE OF DAILY BREAD"
TIME: 16 MINUTES
DIRECTOR: MICHAEL MIRUS/JOHN PASKIEVICH
GALICIA FILMS

## **ANTOINETTE KRYSKI CANADIAN HERITAGE AWARD FOR \$1000**

"AGAINST REASON: A PORTRAIT OF JACK MCCLELLAN"
TIME: 50 MINUTES
DIRECTOR: PETER AND JAMES WEYMAN
CLOSE UP PRODUCTIONS LTD.