ISLAND OF SARK

EXTRAORDINARY (SPECIAL) MEETING of the Chief Pleas to be held on Friday 15th January 2021 at 7 pm in the ASSEMBLY ROOM.

AGENDA

1. To CONSIDER a Report from the POLICY and FINANCE COMMITTEE entitled "Committee Elections etc." and to Elect the Chairman of the Policy and Finance Committee and Conseillers to Committees of Chief Pleas.

Lt Col RJ Guille MBE Speaker of Chief Pleas

15th December 2020

POLICY & FINANCE COMMITTEE

Report to Extraordinary (Special) Chief Pleas, 15th January 2021

COMMITTEE ELECTIONS ETC.

In accordance with the Reform Law, as amended, Chief Pleas are required to elect the Chairman of the Policy and Finance (P&F) Committee and is to be elected by secret ballot, as organised by the Greffier, as Returning Officer. Below is an extract of the Law.

Section 46.

- (1) The chairman of the Policy & Finance Committee shall be such person, being a Conseiller, who may from time to time be elected as such by the Chief Pleas; and the deputy chairman of that Committee shall be elected in like manner.
- (2) Subject to subsection (1), the chairman and deputy chairman of a committee of the Chief Pleas shall be such members of that committee, being Conseillers, who are from time to time appointed as such chairman or deputy chairman, as the case may be, by the members of that committee.

Below is an extract from the Rules that deal with this election of the Chairman of the P&F Committee.

Rule 5. Chairman

- (1) The Chairman of the Policy and Finance Committee shall be elected by Chief Pleas in a secret ballot, with the Greffier acting as Returning Officer, nominations are to be proposed and seconded and given to the Greffier a minimum of 5 working days before the meeting at which the election is to take place. The person so elected shall have a mandate to speak to the outside world on behalf of Chief Pleas.
- (2) The Deputy Chairman of the Policy and Finance Committee shall be elected by Chief Pleas using the same election procedures as the Chairman.

Any Conseiller or Conseiller Elect may be proposed and seconded for election as the Chairman and such names are to be provided to the Greffier not later than 5 working days before the Meeting on the 15th January, i.e. not later than 4pm on Monday the 10th January.

When the above elections have been concluded and the Chairman has been elected to the position, then the remainder of the Committee elections will take place, as organised by the Speaker, in the Committee listing order as given below.

STANDING CHIEF PLEAS COMMITTEES

- a. Policy & Finance 6 members (1 x vacancy).
- b. Agriculture, Environment & Sea Fisheries 4 members (2 x vacancies).
- c. Development Control 4 members (2 x vacancies).
- d. Douzaine 7 members (4 x vacancies). (Membership of the Old Island Hall and Public Works Sub-Committees to be decided at the first meeting of the Douzaine).
- e. Education 4 members (3 x vacancies).

- f. Harbours & Shipping (includes Pilotage) 4 members (2 x vacancies).
- g. Medical & Emergency Services 4 members (1 x vacancy).
- h. Tourism (including Public Health) 4 members (3 x vacancies).

Notes:

- 1. The Constitution and Operation of Chief Pleas Committees contains the provision at Paragraph 4 that all Committees of Chief Pleas may have up to three Non-Chief Pleas Members, as follows: At the request of a Chief Pleas Committee, Chief Pleas may elect up to three Non-Chief Pleas Members onto a Committee without voting rights. Whilst not all the Committee Mandates contain a provision regarding Non-Chief Pleas Members all Committees are able to nominate up to three Non-Chief Pleas Members, if required.
- 2. Non-Chief Pleas Members appointed to Committees by the previous Assembly will continue in office unless their task is completed or they resign.
- 3. Ex-Officio membership of Chief Pleas Committees are unaffected by the change of Assembly.
- 4. Chief Pleas Tribunal Panels of Development Control, Road Traffic and Taxation are unaffected by the change of Assembly and remain extant including the current membership; unless such members being elected as Conseiller will be deemed to have resigned with effect from the time that they take the Oath of Office. Any vacancies caused by such an occurrence will need to be filled and proposals should be put to Chief Pleas at the said Christmas Meeting or a subsequent Meeting.
- 5. Vacancies on Standing Committees may vary to the published vacancies, as listed above for each Committee, if sitting Conseillers resign from those Committees before the Committee election takes place.

Special Chief Pleas Committees: Special Chief Please Committees are formed to enable specific subjects to be investigated and when the task is completed, either by a final Report to Chief Pleas or the drafting of legislation, then the Committee is disbanded by Chief Pleas. The Rule for Special Chief Pleas Committees is as follows:

"Special Chief Pleas Committee" means any temporary or ad-hoc Chief Pleas Committee charged with the execution or investigation of a particular matter."

Conseillers are required to be elected to Special Chief Pleas Committees, these Committees follow the same Rules as Standing Committees and their membership is to be 4 Conseillers and up to 3 Non-Chief Pleas Members, they report directly to Chief Pleas:

a. Development Control Law

Vacancies to be filled (2).

b. Future Energy

No Vacancies to be filled.

c. Land Reform

Vacancies to be filled (1).

d. Protection of Vulnerable Adults

Vacancies to be filled (2)

e. Top Level Domain

Vacancies to be filled (3)

Note: Vacancies to Special Committees may vary to the published vacancies as listed for each Special Committee, if sitting Conseillers resign from these Committees before the Special Committee election takes place.

Conseiller Peter La Trobe-Bateman Chairman, Policy & Finance Committee