

2018-2020 EXECUTIVE

Michael Winward, Chair

William Woodward, 1st Vice Chair

John Krawchenko, 2nd Vice Chair, Central South Region Chair

Jaye Hooper, Past Chair

Jane Robertson, Treasurer

Nathan Baker, Central East Region Chair

Sam Misheal, Central West Region Chair

Kristin Muszynski, East Region Chair

Brigid Wilkinson, Northeast Region Chair

Rene Larson, Northwest Region Chair

Terry Brandon, Southwest Region Chair

Anna Wong, Toronto Lawyers Association Representative

Valerie Brown, Family Law Chair

Eldon Horner, Real Estate Co-Chair

Merredith MacLennan, Real Estate Co-Chair

Katie Robinette, Executive Director

Kelly Lovell, Executive Assistant

February 20, 2019

Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing 17th Floor, 777 Bay Street Toronto, ON M5G 2E5

Attention: Jae Truesdell, Policy Advisor – Planning, Zoning & Development

Jae.Truesdell@ontario.ca

LawPRO 250 Yonge Street, Suite 3101 Toronto, ON M5B 2L7

Attention: Ray Leclair, Vice-President, Public Affairs

ray.leclair@lawpro.ca

Dear Sirs:

Re: Proposed amendments to the Planning Act

The Federation of Ontario Law Associations ("FOLA") has carefully reviewed the proposed changes to the *Planning Act* put forward by LawPRO in 2018 and is writing to unconditionally endorse each of the proposed amendments.

FOLA is an organization representing the associations and members of forty-six local law associations across Ontario. Together with the Toronto Lawyer's Association, our members represent approximately 12,000 lawyers across the province. The vast majority of these lawyers provide front-line services to the Ontario public. Many of our members deal with the *Planning Act* on a regular basis as part of a real estate practice, and the proposed amendment will enhance their ability to assist their clients.

Yours truly,

Mike Winward Chair, FOLA

winward@mackesysmye.com

Merredith MacLennan Real Estate Co-Chair, FOLA

merredith.maclennan@stewart.com

c.c.: Michael Wilson, Chief of Staff, Ministry of the Attorney General

Doug Downey, MPP, PA to the Minister of Finance