## September 12, 2022

# Regular Meeting & Public Hearing Local Law # 1-2022

6:00 Mandated Sexual Harassment Refresher

Supervisor Van Winkler presented the Refresher film to the Board and Tax Collector Hugick, Justice Miller, Court Clerk Damulis, and Health Officer Munyan.

Supervisor Van Winkler opened the Regular meeting at 7:30 and led those present in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Present were: Councilmen John Armstrong, Councilman Jeffrey Crockett, Councilwoman Dorayne Peplinski, Councilman Leslie Miller, Town Clerk Anna Halkowich and Highway supt. Darryl Aney.

Supervisor Van Winkler opened the PUBLIC HEARING (Moratorium on Certain Renewal Energy)

Motion by J. Armstrong and second by D. Peplinski to accept the minutes of the August meeting.

All – Aye

Motion by D. Peplinski and second to accept the Supervisor's report.

All – Aye

Motion by J. Armstrong and second by L. Miller to accept the Town Clerk's report.

All – Aye

We have received the invoice for services from the Village of Richfield Springs for Fire and Ambulance service to the Town. A Public Hearing on this will be held at the Regular Meeting on October 10, 2022. Motion by Miller and second by J. Crockett to hold this Hearing.

All – Aye

Motion was made by L. Van Winkler and second by L. Miller to join with other Towns in Herkimer County to learn more about setting up a Hazard Mitigation Plan to cover our Town. A series of 3 meetings will be held for this purpose within the County. J. Crockett and J. Armstrong will attend these meetings to gather information and report findings to the Board. The first meeting will be 11/26/2022.

All – Aye

Budget Officer Van Winkler presented the Tentative Budget for 2023 to the Board. The date for the November meeting and Public Hearing on the 2023 Budget will be November 9<sup>th</sup>, Wen., instead of the usual Thursday after Election Day. This will be held in conjunction with our regular meeting for November. Motion by L. Miller and second by D. Peplinski.

All - Aye

The Public Hearing on Local Law # 1 of 2022, "Moratorium on Certain Renewal Energy" was closed at 9:00 pm. Motion by L. Miller and second by J. Armstrong. Motion to adopt this Moratorium was made by L. Miller and second by J. Crockett.

#### All – Aye

Phil Green has agreed to become our Codes Officer beginning 1/1/2023 to replace Mitch Van Winkler who has announced his retirement from this position effective 12/31/2022. Mr. Green will be at our October meeting to be sworn in. His appoint to this position was accepted on a motion by L. Miller and second by J. Armstrong.

### All – Aye

Pick-up trucks for the Highway Dept. were discussed. It was decided to purchase two (2) new pickups for the Hwy. Dept. Darryl will see what is available and if there is a possibility to piggy-back with other towns or is state contracts are still available. One pick-up will be paid for with "Bidden funds" and the other with Town money. He is also authorized to sell the current pick-up at auction to use the equity as trade-in toward one of the pick-ups. Both are to have plow hookups. At least one truck should be 4 passenger capacity. Motion by J. Crockett and second by L. Van Winkler.

## All – Aye

Mr. Aney also stated that the Grade-All is in need of repair and would like to find one that he can use parts from to fix the current one. There is one available in Town of Westmoreland and he will go to look at it. He asked permission to be able to go over his limit of \$3,000.00 without prior Board approval if it is what he needs. He was given permission to do this if it is what he needs and is in good shape. He will use his judgement and discretion depending on the condition of this machine. Motion by J. Armstrong and second by L. Miller.

Motion by L. Miller and second by J. Armstrong to pay General Accounts 74 – 77 in the amount of \$227.37.

## All – Aye

Motion by D. Peplinski and second by L. Miller to pay Highway Accounts 131 – 147 in the amount of \$90,808.79.

#### All - Aye

Motion by J. Crockett and second by j. Armstrong to adjourn at 10:45 pm.

All – Aye

Respectfully submitted by Anna K. Halkowich, Town Clerk