Central South Dakota Enhancement District Board Meeting

Held via Zoom Conferencing on January 21, 2021 at 2PM

Attendees via Zoom: Bill Abernathy, Ron Van Den Berg, Brittany Smith, Harry Weller, Kevin Hipple, Jay Drayer, Casey Krogman, Jenny Galbraith, Dawn Tassler, Krysti Barnes, Amanda Fink, Michael Gebes, Carla Smith, Brook Bohnenkamp, Gloria Hanson, Ansel Wooden Knife, Paul Mehlhaff, Ernest Weston, Vikki Day, Jennie Palmer, Mary Ducheneaux, David Reiss, Malinda Hetzel

Call to Order: Meeting was called to order at 2P.M. CST by Chairwoman Day.

Introductions:

Additions to the Agenda: 2021-2024 EDA Planning Partnership Grant Application was added to the agenda.

Approval of the Agenda: motion to approve the agenda with additions made by Harry Weller, second by Gloria Hanson. Roll call vote: Bill Abernathy, Ron Van Den Berg, Brittany Smith, Kevin Hipple, Jay Drayer, Casey Krogman, Jenny Galbraith, Dawn Tassler, Krysti Barnes, Amanda Fink, Michael Gebes, Carla Smith, Brook Bohnenkamp, Gloria Hanson, Ansel Wooden Knife, Ernest Weston and Mary Ducheneaux, all voting aye, motion carried.

Approval of November 19th, 2020 minutes: Motion to approve by Harry Weller, second by Krysti Barnes. Roll call vote: Bill Abernathy, Ron Van Den Berg, Brittany Smith, Kevin Hipple, Jay Drayer, Casey Krogman, Jenny Galbraith, Dawn Tassler, Gloria Hanson, Amanda Fink, Michael Gebes, Carla Smith, Brook Bohnenkamp, Gloria Hanson, Ansel Wooden Knife, Ernest Weston and Mary Ducheneaux.

Bylaw Amendment Request –Executive Committee Officer Leadership Track- Chairwoman Day briefly discussed the purpose of this request with the board. Board directed Director Reiss to draft an amendment.

CSDED Executive Committee Election: The Nomination Committee brought nomination suggestions to the board. Suggested nominees were Gloria Hanson for Chair, Bill Abernathy for Vice Chair, Krysti Barnes for Secretary/Treasurer and suggested Members at Large were Ron Van Den Berg and Vikki Day. There were no other suggestions. Chairwoman Day called a cease to nominations.

Motion to elect Gloria Hanson as Chair of the Board by Harry Weller, second by Krysti Barnes. Roll call vote: Bill Abernathy, Ron Van Den Berg, Brittany Smith, Kevin Hipple, Jay Drayer, Casey Krogman, Jenny Galbraith, Dawn Tassler, Amanda Fink, Michael Gebes, Carla Smith, Brook Bohnenkamp, Gloria Hanson, Ansel Wooden Knife, Ernest Weston and Mary Ducheneaux, all voting aye. Motion carried.

Motion to elect Bill Abernathy as Vice Chair of the board by Krysti Barnes, second by Vikki Day. Roll call vote: Bill Abernathy, Ron Van Den Berg, Brittany Smith, Kevin Hipple, Jay Drayer, Casey Krogman, Jenny Galbraith, Dawn Tassler, Harry Weller, Amanda Fink, Michael Gebes, Carla Smith, Brook Bohnenkamp, Gloria Hanson, Ansel Wooden Knife, Ernest Weston and Mary Ducheneaux, all members voting aye. Motion carried.

Motion to elect Krysti Barnes as Secretary/ Treasurer by Jay Drayer, second by Bill Abernathy. Roll call vote: Bill Abernathy, Ron Van Den Berg, Brittany Smith, Kevin Hipple, Casey Krogman, Jenny Galbraith, Dawn Tassler, Harry Weller, Amanda Fink, Michael Gebes, Carla Smith, Brook Bohnenkamp, Vikki Day, Ansel Wooden Knife, Ernest Weston and Mary Ducheneaux all members voting aye. Motion carried.

Ron Van Den Berg and Vikki Day were appointed Members-At-Large to the Executive Committee by Chairwoman Hanson.

Financial Report: Director Reiss briefly discussed the state of the Districts accounts sharing how the different funding sources and outstanding bills were allocated within the accounts. Reiss also mentioned that he was waiting on a year-end report from the accountants.

District Work Report: Director Reiss discussed the various different works the District is working on with numerous ongoing and soon to begin projects.

EDA COVID 19 Supplemental Grant works Update: Director Reiss shared the work that has been completed that he had contracted with Marco for the Technology Procurement, First District of Local Governments for the GIS/COVID website development and Buddy Seiner, Consultant for the CEDS COVID Recovery/ Resiliency Addendum. Reiss shared that he would most likely have Mr. Seiner join the next board meeting to go over his plan with the board.

District GOED Economic Development Partnership Program Grant Award Discussion: Director Reiss discussed the grant terms and the matching RLF funding applications and necessary steps the District would need to take upon acceptance of this grant. Motion to approve acceptance of grant by Vikki Day, second by Krysti Barnes. Roll call vote: Bill Abernathy, Ron Van Den Berg, Brittany Smith, Kevin Hipple, Casey Krogman, Jenny Galbraith, Dawn Tassler, Harry Weller, Amanda Fink, Michael Gebes, Carla Smith, Brook Bohnenkamp, Jay Drayer, Ansel Wooden Knife, Ernest Weston and Mary Ducheneaux all members voting aye. Motion carried.

RESOLUTION OF BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF CENTRAL SOUTH DAKOTA ENHANCEMENT DISTRICT ("CORPORATION") APPROVING THE SOUTH DAKOTA ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT PARTNERSHIP GRANT PROGRAM GRANT APPLICATION AND DESIGNATING NAMED CORPORATE OFFICERS TO EXECUTE DOCUMENTS AND TO ACT ON ITS BEHALF. Motion to sign resolution by Jay Drayer, second by Ron Van Den Berg. Roll call vote: Bill Abernathy, Krysti Barnes, Brittany Smith, Kevin Hipple, Casey Krogman, Jenny Galbraith, Dawn Tassler, Harry Weller, Amanda Fink, Michael Gebes, Carla Smith, Brook Bohnenkamp, Vikki Day, Ansel Wooden Knife, Ernest Weston and Mary Ducheneaux, all voting aye. Motion carried.

EDA Planning Partnership Grant: Director Reiss shared that the District will receive a grant from the EDA to support the planning efforts within the district similar to grants received in the past. Motion to apply made by Ron Van Den Berg, second by Bill Abernathy. Roll Call Vote: Jay Drayer, Krysti Barnes Brittany Smith, Kevin Hipple, Casey Krogman, Jenny Galbraith, Dawn Tassler, Harry Weller, Amanda Fink, Michael Gebes, Carla Smith, Brook Bohnenkamp, Vikki Day, Ansel Wooden Knife, Ernest Weston and Mary Ducheneaux, all voting aye. Motion carried.

Other: Members expressed a thank you and appreciation to Vikki Day for her services to CSDED as Chairwoman of the Board over the years.

Next meeting to be held on March 18th, 2021 (tentative) at the CSDED Board Room, Pierre.

Chairwoman Hanson adjourned at 3:01P.M. CST.

I, herby, certify that the above minutes of January 21, 2021 were approved by the CSDED Board on_____