Swansboro Country Property Owners Association

Annual Membership Meeting (Election)

February 10, 2018

Minutes

DRAFT (Not yet approved by the Members)

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Roger Stenbock, President at 10:00 AM. Present at roll call were all Directors; Stenbock, Harris, Butler, Pullin, Smith and Persico. There was one Board position open at the time of roll call. Also present were; Rod Baydaline, the association attorney, Rick LaFrance, TMT, and approximately forty members.

2. Verification of a Quorum

Management confirmed that, per the bylaws, the members present and proxy ballots represents a quorum for an annual meeting at Swansboro.

3. Introduction of Board Members, Association Attorney and Management Representatives
President Stenbock introduced all Board members, attorney, management and the guest
speaker.

4. Approval of the 2017 Annual Membership Meeting Minutes

These minutes were approved, as presented, by the members, no nay votes.

5. Annual Board Election

A. Introduction of Candidates

Candidates were introduced.

B. Close Polls

The polls were officially closed by the President at 10:10 AM.

C. Appointment of Assistants to Inspector of Elections

Rick LaFrance, the appointed Inspector of Elections, appointed four assistants for the ballot counting.

D. Tabulation of Ballots

Tabulation of ballots commenced in an adjacent room.

6. Presidents Report

President Stenbock gave a written and verbal presentation to the members concerning 2017 results, activities and projects. This presentation will become part of the board packet and will be published on the association web site.

7. Treasurers Report

Treasurer Pullin gave a detailed financial report as of the period ended January 31st, 2018. He reported that the association is presently on budget, has been able to lower member assessments and is in a favorable cash flow position.

8. Committee Reports

Reports were given by the following committees; Bylaws Restatement, Roads, Communications, Bark Beetle, Maintenance and Common Area

9. Invited Guest Speaker (Michael Ranalli, EDC Board of Supervisors – District 4)

Mr. Ranalli gave a presentation and discussed; Water and tree programs within the County and their effect upon Swansboro. The bridge to Swansboro status and expectations. Road

maintenance. He also addressed various attending member questions.

10. Open Discussion

- A member requested information concerning the process for filing a vacancy on the Board. The President reviewed the Bylaw requirements and stated that the recent opening had been voted to not be filled as it was close (within three months) of an election.
- A member requested information concerning bad debt expenses and collection activity.
 Management addressed the question.
- A member expressed the opinion that a project being done by the association CPA may
 not be necessary and that the member felt the Board was not following the open meeting
 act requirements. The attorney voiced the opinion that he was not aware of any violations
 of the open meeting act and requested the member to send their concerns through
 management.
- A member asked about mailing costs. Management informed the member that election
 materials are mailed separately and all recent mailings have been combined to minimize
 costs. Also members may opt out of postal service mailings and receive all mailings
 except ballot materials via email.
- A member asked why an appointed director's term does not expire on the next election date. The association attorney addressed the question referring to the bylaws.

11. Announcement of Ballot Results

Adjourn; 11:50 AM

12.

The Inspector of Elections announced the Election Results:

- 1. Debbie Harris 132 votes
- 2. Roger Stenbock 115 votes
- 3. Paul Beacham 81 votes
- 4. Guy Seaton 64 votes
- 5. Robert Keel 49 votes
- 6. Natalya Wahba 10 votes
- 7. Write In; Kim Purcell 12 votes

Debbie Harris, Roger Stenbock and Paul Beacham were therefore elected to serve two year terms.

The Tax Resolution passed; 121 Yeas to 10 Nays

Approval of Minutes		******	*****
			4. 4. 4. 4. 4. 4. 4. 4. 4. 4. 4. 4. 4. 4
Unofficial until approv	ved and signed.		
These Minutes were p	repared by R. LaFrance, The	Management Trust, and reviewed	I by the Association's Secretary
Respectfully submitted	d by:		
Association Secretary		Date	

