

## The Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction NOMINATION FORM

Established by Scott O'Dell and Zena Sutherland in 1982, the Scott O'Dell Award is given for a distinguished work of historical fiction. To be eligible, a book must be published by a U.S. publisher; the setting must be South, Central or North America; and the author must be a U.S. citizen. Books published during each calendar year are eligible for the following year's award.

Deborah Stevenson, Editor of *The Bulletin* and Director of the Center for Children's Books is the Committee Chair. She is assisted by Elizabeth (Betty) Bush, former St. Damian School Librarian, and adjunct faculty for the University of Illinois' iSchool; and Roger Sutton, Editor in Chief of the Horn Book, Inc.

## **Submission Instructions:**

Books may be submitted throughout the year to the Award Committee.

## 1. Title Information

For each title you wish to bring to the attention of the Award Committee, send the following information directly to Ms. Deborah Stevenson, Committee Chair (see address below; submission information may accompany books).

- Indicate: O'Dell Award Nomination Candidate.
- Submit: Book Title (include subtitle if there is one), Author, Publisher, Month and Year of Publication.
- Include: Name, telephone number, and e-mail address of the publishing house contact.

The Committee may consider any eligible book, but publishers' submissions are valuable in bringing books to the attention of the Committee. The committee will accept directly submitted PDFs or egalleys via Edelweiss, which should whitelist the committee emails and have no expiration date, and committee members should be emailed notice of the Edelweiss submission.

## 2. Book Copy

One copy of each book you wish to bring to the Committee's attention should be sent to the following Committee members: Ms. Deborah Stevenson, Scott O'Dell Award, 1115 W. Union Street, Champaign, IL 61821. Ms. Elizabeth Bush, 17242 Henry Street, Lansing, IL 60438. Mr. Roger Sutton, Scott O'Dell Award, Horn Book, 300 The Fenway, Palace Road Bldg., Suite P-311, Boston, MA 02115.

The committee will accept directly submitted PDFs or egalleys via Edelweiss, which should whitelist the committee emails and have no expiration date, and committee members should be emailed notice of the Edelweiss submission.

If you have further inquiries, please email the Award Committee Chair, Ms. Deborah Stevenson, at <a href="dstevens@illinois.edu">dstevens@illinois.edu</a> and put "O'Dell Award" in the subject line.

Updated: April 28, 2020