Kansas Association of Taxidermists Four Points Sheraton, Manhattan, KS Business Meeting March 26, 2022

The meeting was called to order at 3:10 P.M. by President Wes Becker with 17 members present.

Brian Sigman passed out copies of the Treasures Report. The report showed a balance of \$12,740.58 in the checking account and \$10, 226.10 in the money market account. Cory Foth moved to accept the report as printed. Motion seconded by Bryan Glaser. Motion passed. Brian also reported the silent auction had raised \$2,300.

The minutes of the January 9, 2022, meeting were handed out. Chris Hinshaw moved to accept as printed. Motion seconded by Jim Keller. Motion passed.

Bryan Glaser reported 2023 and 2024 conventions will be at the City Center Hotel in Topeka. Dates are March 24-26, 2023, and March 22-24, 2024.

There was no Old Business.

Elections

With no conventions held for 2020 or 2021 it was decided to elect Board members as if those years were skipped over.

Wes Becker, president would have one year left of his term.

A vice president needed to be elected for a two-year term. Chris Hinshaw nominated Matt Welsh; Bryan Glaser seconded the nomination. Matt Welsh was elected.

Brian Sigman, treasurer would have one year left of his term.

A secretary needed to be elected for a two-year term. Sue Penn nominated Brad Anderson. Chris Hinshaw seconded the nomination. Brad Anderson was elected.

Eastern Directors: Chris Rickard has one year left of his term. He has reported he does not want to continue as director. Wes Becker nominated Chris Hinshaw to fill the one year left, Jim Keller seconded the nomination. Chris Hinshaw was elected.

Kelly Ward was re-elected to a two-year term.

Western Directors: Mike Beckman has one year left of his term. Jerry Kissinger was re-elected to a two-year term.

At Large Directors: Bryan Glaser has one year left of his term. Kaleb Tierce was elected to a two-year term.

Tim Stidham would continue as immediate past president.

Other Business

President Was asked for suggestions for a summer seminar. The association is trying to have two paid for presentations. Suggestions – lifesize bobcat; repair a shot up bird; Abel Everage as a presenter.

Discussion on the registration form – make it plain on the cut off time to bring in entries. Change the wording so the early bird deadline is not the first thing you see. Have a date or statement of when registrations are accepted.

Discussion on judges for next year. After discussion on past and future judges, Cory Foth moved to ask the current judges to come back with a one-year contract, and future judges be asked for only one year. Brian Sigman seconded the motion. Motion passed. Wes will talk to the judges.

Bryan Glaser moved to purchase a new laptop and printer for no more than \$1,000. Kaleb Tierce seconded. The motion passed.

Family membership was clarified. It means two votes and allows children under 18 years who compete with paid entry can be under the family membership. A family membership is not needed for entries in the Youth Division.

Brad Anderson asked to have what is now called reproduction fish division, be reproduction division. The group agreed.

There was discussion on adding information to the mount number card. Add if Pro One, Polytraspar, etc. was used, and if appropriate were parts cast or purchased.

The drawing for the Early Bird Registration and Scholarship was done. It was announced at the banquet that Jaron Villemarette won the early bird drawing and Brad Anderson won the scholarship.

The group discussed mount entry fees and registration. Cory Foth moved to have the mount entry fee be \$20, motion seconded by Chris Hinshaw. Motion passed.

Tom Bowman told information on the new Oklahoma law that specimens cannot cross state lines with brain or spinal matter.

How to get more vendor to come to our show was discussed, with no real answers.

Kaleb Tierce will put together a kids' program for next year. Sue Penn will contact Tim Stidham and Avery Rush to see if they have any supplies from past programs.

There needs to be a bigger Facebook footprint for the association. Chris Hinshaw and Tim Stidham are the admin of the page now. Cory Foth volunteered to help too.

No date was set for the next meeting. The meeting was adjourned at 4:10 P.M.

Sue Penn, Secretary

Members signed in:

Jeff Goeckler, Clint Bowman, Cory Foth, Dave Selenke, Bryan Glaser, Tom Bowman, Bob Juleson, Dennis Schumacher, Brian Sigman, Jim Keller, Matt Welsh, Kaleb Tierce, Wes Becker, Sue Penn, Brad Anderson, Bob Helm, Chris Hinshaw and Brylor Hinshaw