# Strahan United Methodist Church

### Prologue:

The Strahan United Methodist Church has a rich history of answering God's call to open hearts and hands to community and mission, both locally and across the world. We realize that with changing government and social systems, the burdens of support for people in need are returning to the local community. The cornerstone for this congregation remains the Wesleyan doctrine as stated in Matthew 22: 37-39 which commands us to love the Lord our God with all our hearts and love our neighbors as ourselves.

#### Vision Statement:

- To build a community of faith that is committed to serving God by serving others through prayer, fellowship, and mission.
- To raise and nourish the youth, and all of God's children, with His word so they grow in love, forgiveness, and acceptance, and embrace their responsibility
  and reward as Christian people.
- To answer Christ's command to provide food, drink, clothing, and consolation to all in need, both local and distant.
- And to serve as a beacon of light to guide and empower all who have or wish to have a relationship with the one living and true God through Jesus Christ.

# 2020 Church Council

Pastor – Joni Hickey Chairperson – Scott Hillyer Vice-Chairperson – Dan Pollock Lay Leader – Helen Pollock

Lay Member to Annual Conference – Nicole Grindle Alternate – Jenn Gee

Recording Secretary – Jenn Gee Financial Secretary – Pat Wortman Membership Secretary – Karen Gee Treasurer – Tom Pollock Treasurer Apprentice - Paul Morrical

## Specialized Areas of Leadership

- Sunday School Superintendent Jami Sayers
- Youth & Higher Ed (UMYF) Jill Cuff
- UMW Jenn Gee
- Choir Director Harva Paul
- Church Historian Paula Singleton
- Finance Auditors Steve Grindle & Doug Christensen
- Newsletter Karen Gee & Helen Pollock
- Website / Facebook Helen Pollock
- Communion Steward Peg Smiley
- Camping Coordinator Deb Olerich
- Turkey Dinner Coordinator Harva Paul
- Mission Coordinator Jami Sayers

# 2020 Teams of the Strahan United Methodist Church

## ADMINISTRATIVE TEAMS

	2020	2021	2022
Lay Leadership	Pastor (chair)	Pat Wortman	James Paul
Committee (Nominating)	Helen Pollock	Nicole Grindle	Jacquie Morrical
Staff Parish Relations	Lynn Christensen	Dawn Hillyer	Mike Hossle
Committee (SPRC)			
Finance Committee	Financial Secretary – Pat Treasurer – Tom	SPRC Rep - Lynn Memorial Chair - Karen	UMW Chair - Jenn
	Church Council Chair - Scott	Trustee Rep - Paul	Lay Leader - Helen Lay Member to Ann. Conf Nicole
Memorial Committee	Karen Gee	Lynn Christensen	Kim Huston
	Lana White	Jacquie Morrical	Krista Frazee
			James Paul
Board of Trustees	Tom Pollock	Heath Sayers	Krista Frazee
	Jennifer Gee	Paul Morrical	Harva Paul
			Ron Gray

# **MINISTRY TEAMS**

Worship Team	Jill Cuff	Jacquie Morrical	Lynn Christensen	Jamie Hossle
-	Stephanie Gray			Bianka Honeyman
Faith	Dawn Hillyer	Jami Sayers	Deb Olerich	Tara Goodman
Development	Jill Wade	Dan Pollock	Nanete Morrical	Samantha Wilson
Team				
Radical	Will Frazee	Kathy Grindle	Stephanie Gray	Brittany Baumfalk
Hospitality Team	Phyllis Paulsen	Jennifer Frazee	Stephanie V-Pollock	Bianka Honeyman
				James Paul

LAY SPEAKERS: Helen Pollock, Scott Hillyer, Dan Pollock