

## WHATCOM COUNTY FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT NO.14 REGULAR COMMISSIONERS' MEETING August 13, 2024

**PRESENT:** Commissioner RobRoy Graham, Commissioner Chris Moe, Commissioner Russell Vreugdenhil, District Chief Jerry DeBruin, Assistant District Chief David Moe, Battalion Chief Frank Cain Jr., and District Administrator Jo Olson.

Absent: Battalion Chief Jay Van Middendorp

## Guests:

Meeting called to order at 4:00PM.

# Items approved and signed by the Commissioners:

- Approval of Regular Meeting Minutes July 9, 2024
- Approval of Current Warrants and Payroll
  - o Warrants in the amount of \$33,387.29 & ACH \$1,332.36
  - Payroll in the amount of \$49,847.68
- <u>Approval for BVFF Accident Claim Voucher</u>
- <u>Approval for Interlocal EMS Agreement</u>

# July's 2024 Treasurers Report:

#### 714 Expense Fund

•	Starting Cash Balance	624,898.40
•	Tax Receipts	8,600.41
•	Misc. Receipts	21,766.00
•	Transfer in	.68
•	Warrants/Remittances	89,427.45
•	Refund Interest Paid	22.42
•	Ending Cash Balance	565,815.62
•	Prior Investment Balance	33,901.65
•	Purchase & Pool Earnings	119.70
•	Ending Investment Balance	34,021.35
•	Total Cash & Investment Pool	599,836.97

#### 71420 Reserve Fund

<ul><li>Purchase &amp;</li><li>Ending Inve</li></ul>	pts	333,131.61 22,000.00 <b>355,131.61</b> 651,331.55 1,953.26 <b>653,284.81</b> 1,008,416.42
		, , -
71410 Go Bond • Debt Outsta	unding	1,121,272.67
<ul><li>Deposits/Mi</li><li>Withdrawals</li></ul>	fic Statement: Balance (7/01/2024) sc. Credits 33 Misc. Credits 6 ance (7/31/2024)	500.35 33,108.28 20,744.85 12,863.78

### Meeting Minutes:

July 2024 Regular Meeting Minutes:

**Motion**: Commissioner Vreugdenhil **motioned** to accept the Regular meeting minutes. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Graham and approved.

### **Claim Payment Request & Payroll:**

August 2024 Claim Vouchers and Payroll:

**Motion:** Commissioner Graham **motioned** to accept the Claim Vouchers and Payroll. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Vreugdenhil and approved.

#### **BVFF Voucher for Accident Claim:**

**Motion:** Commissioner Moe **motioned** to accept the voucher for Injury. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Vreugdenhil and approved.

### Interlocal Agreement for First response EMS:

**Motion:** Commissioner Graham **motioned** to accept the Interlocal EMS agreement. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Moe and approved.

# Old Business:

Army Truck:

• Assistant Chief Moe spoke to the progress of the new army truck and shared photos.

New Command Vehicle:

- District Chief DeBruin commented on the New Command Vehicle which was purchased
- Discussion on the plans for the older utility vehicles
- District Chief DeBruin and Assistant Chief Moe spoke to the surplus of a couple of the utility vehicles.
- Commissioners in agreement for District Chief DeBruin and Assistant Chief Moe to look into surplus of the vehicles.

# **District Chief DeBruin:**

• District Chief DeBruin noted nothing to report.

## Assistant District Chief Moe:

• Assistant Chief Moe had nothing else to report.

# Station Reports:

Station 91:

• No report

Station 92:

• Battalion Chief Frank Cain Jr. indicated all is well at Station 92.

Station 93:

• No report

# New Business:

Notice of Approved Premium Rate Changes for Healthcare for Employees for 2025.

- District Administrator Jo Olson shared the notice of increase with the commissioners.
- Discussion on the new rate of 6.9%.

Health Promotion Northwest:

- District Chief DeBruin and Assistant Chief Moe spoke to Health Promotion Northwest for the volunteers.
- Discussion continued on keeping it as pay as required.

New Ambulance:

- District Chief DeBruin shared the details of the need for a new ambulance and if we order now, it will still be Mid-March of 2026 before we would get to take possession.
- District Chief DeBruin and Assistant Chief Moe noted the current build time is 530-580 days and shared the ballpark cost
- Discussion on cost.

### New Ambulance for District 14:

**Motion:** Commissioner Moe **motioned** to accept the plan for District Chief DeBruin and Assistant Chief Moe to go ahead and look into the purchase of a new ambulance and purchase an ambulance for District 14. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Vreugdenhil and approved.

Meeting adjourned at 5:00PM with commissioners in agreement.

The next regular meeting will be on September 10, 2024 at **4:00 PM** at the Kendall Station:

Commissioner-Chair, RobRoy Graham Commissioner, Chris Moe

Commissioner, Russell Vreugdenhil

District Administrator, Jo Olson