

WHATCOM COUNTY FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT NO.14 REGULAR COMMISSIONERS' MEETING March 11, 2025

PRESENT: Commissioner RobRoy Graham, Commissioner Chris Moe, Commissioner Russell Vreugdenhil, District Chief Jerry DeBruin, Assistant District Chief David Moe, and District Administrator Jo Olson.

Absent: Battalion Chief Frank Cain Jr. & Battalion Chief Jay Van Middendorp

Guests:

Meeting called to order at 4:00PM.

Items approved and signed by the Commissioners:

- Approval of Regular Meeting Minutes February, 2025
- Approval of Current Warrants and Payroll
 - Warrants in the amount of \$45,695.67 & ACH \$1,529.78
 - Payroll in the amount of \$62,130.35
- <u>Approval for Void/Cancel Checks</u>

February's 2025 Treasurers Report:

71400 Expense Fund

•	Starting Cash Balance	651,632.10
•	Tax Receipts	13,508.55
•	Misc. Receipts	16,280.00
•	Disbursements	133,112.24
•	Refund Interest Paid	10.54
•	Ending Cash Balance	548,297.87
•	Prior Investment Balance	34,648.50
•	Purchase & Pool Earnings	105.52
•	Ending Investment Balance	34,754.02
•	Total Cash & Investment Pool	583,051.89

71401 Reserve Fund

 Starting Cash Balance 	394,514.21
• Misc. Receipts	24,500.00
 Net Cash Transfer 	
 Ending Cash Balance 	419,014.21
 Prior Investment Balance 	665,328.14
 Purchase & Pool Earnings 	
 Ending Investment Balance 	667,354.29
 Total Cash & Investment Pool 	1,086,386.50
71404 Mitigation Fees	
 Starting Cash Balance 	3,611.00
• Misc. Receipts	1,492.36
• Ending Cash Balance	5,103.36
71403 Go Bond	
• Beginning Balance	1,047,499.82
• Debt Outstanding	1,047,499.82
Bank of the Pacific Statement:	
• Beginning Balance (02/01/2025)	3,464.47
• Deposits/Misc. Credits 23	13,386.19
 Withdrawals/Misc. Credits 6 	15,625.54
• Ending Balance (02/28/2025)	1,225.12

Meeting Minutes:

February 2025 Regular Meeting Minutes:

Motion: Commissioner Moe **motioned** to accept the Regular meeting minutes. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Vreugdenhil and approved.

Claim Payment Request & Payroll:

March 2025 Claim Vouchers and Payroll:

Motion: Commissioner Graham **motioned** to accept the Claim Vouchers and Payroll. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Vreugdenhil and approved.

Void/Cancel Checks:

Motion: Commissioner Vreugdenhil **motioned** to accept the two void/cancel checks. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Moe and approved.

Old Business: Army Truck: • Assistant Chief Moe noted a grant of \$18,000 coming soon.

New Ambulance:

• No new information

New Bay at the Sumas Station:

- Chief DeBruin will follow up and try to get more information.
- Rental space as an option was discussed.

District Chief DeBruin:

- District Chief DeBruin noted a grant and spoke to the need of jaws unit/Cutter, SCBA's and a Ventilation Fan.
- Discussion continued on price and a grant

Cutter Unit:

Motion: Commissioner Moe **motioned** to accept the purchase of a cutter unit. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Graham and approved.

SCBA Tanks & Ventilation Fan:

• **Motion:** Commissioner Graham **motioned** to accept the purchases of SCBA's and a ventilation fan. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Moe and approved.

Assistant District Chief Moe:

• Assistant Chief Moe noted the EMT Class and upcoming Fire Academy.

Station Reports:

Station 91: Battalion Chief Van Middendorp was absent,

• No report

Station 92: Battalion Chief Frank Cain Jr. was absent.

• No report

Station 93:

• No report

New Business:

• Surplus of BR-92 (2009) and placing it on GovsDeals was discussed.

Motion: Commissioner Moe **motioned** to surplus BR-92 (2009) and put out on GovDeals. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Graham and approved.

EMS (EOB Meeting)

- Commissioner Graham gave a handout of Countywide EMS funds and spoke to the EOB meeting discussion on the Countywide EMS funds.
- Discussion continued.

Meeting adjourned at 5:05 PM with commissioners in agreement.

The next regular meeting will be on April 8, 2025 at **4:00 PM** at the Kendall Station:

Commissioner-Chair, RobRoy Graham

Commissioner, Chris Moe

Commissioner, Russell Vreugdenhil

District Administrator, Jo Olson