

WHATCOM COUNTY FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT NO.14 COMMISSIONERS' Special MEETING February 24, 2015

PRESENT: Commissioner RobRoy Graham, Commissioner Leonard Bjornstad, District Chief Jerry DeBruin, Battalion Chief Denise Christensen, Battalion Chief Frank Cain Jr., Training Division Lieutenant David Moe and District Administrator Jo Olson.

ABSENT: Commissioner Larry Moore and Battalion Chief Jay Van Middendorp

INVITED GUEST: Captain Daniel Williamson, volunteer for WCFD#14

GUEST:

Meeting called to order at 7:00 PM at Kendall Fire Station.

Items signed by the Commissioners:

- BVFF Report of Accident (Injury), Vehicle T92
- Agreement to Extend Social Security Coverage to Retirement Members

Levy Lid Discussion:

- Commissioner Graham led the discussion on the levy lid for more funds to continue supplying fire and EMS within the county
- Discussion continued on the needs of the district based on prioritized list created at last meeting
- The cost of the district needs was discussed as well as the amount of tax increase needed to ensure we can continue supplying fire and EMS within the county
- Commissioner Bjornstad spoke about tax dollar increase amounts
- District Chief DeBruin spoke about our districts Capital Facility Plan and said we are on track and meeting the goals laid out within that Capital Facility Plan
- District Chief DeBruin spoke about how the City of Sumas would be affected by a new tax increase
- The cost of remodeling the Kendall Station was discussed
- Personnel cost and coverage was discussed
- Commissioner Graham spoke about the best way to get the word out to the public
- Discussion continued on identifying which groups to start with for getting the district's message out

T92 Accident Replacement:

- Commissioner Bjornstad made a motion for District Chief DeBruin to go ahead with bids for replacement of T92
- Commissioner Graham seconded the motion

Meeting adjourned at 8:35 PM.

The next regular meeting will be at Kendall Station on March 10, 2015 at 7:00 PM

COMMISSIONER-CHAIR---Larry Moore

COMMISSIONER---RobRoy Graham

COMMISSIONER---Leonard Bjornstad

DISTRICT ADMIN---Jo Olson