

WHATCOM COUNTY FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT NO.14 REGULAR COMMISSIONERS' MEETING June 8, 2021

PRESENT: Commissioner RobRoy Graham, Commissioner Leonard Bjornstad, Commissioner Chris Moe, District Chief Jerry DeBruin, Training Officer David Moe, and Administrative Secretary Jo Olson

ABSENT: Battalion Chief Jay Van Middendorp, Battalion Chief Frank Cain Jr.

GUESTS:

Meeting called to order at 4:00PM

Items approved and signed by the Commissioners:

- Approval of Regular Meeting Minutes for May 8, 2021
- Approval of Claim Payment Request & Payroll
 - o 714 Warrants in the amount of 42,827.59
 - o Payroll in the amount of 42,223.17
 - o Approval of BVFF Reimbursement for Physical

April's 2021 Treasurers Report:

714 Expense Fund

•	Starting Cash Balance	726,078.09
•	Tax Receipts	61,049.32
•	Misc. Receipts	122.945.18
•	Transfer in	76,500.32
•	Warrants	166.248.97
•	Refund Interest	2.05
•	Ending Cash Balance	820,321.88
•	Ending Investment Balance	179,604.38
•	Total Cash & Investment Pool	999,926.26

71420 Reserve Fund • Starting Cash Balance 76,500.32 • Misc. Receipts 19,125.08 76,500.32 • Transfers Out Ending Cash Balance 19,125.08 Prior Investment Balance 188,061.12 Purchases & Pool Earnings 131.86 • Ending Investment Balance 188, 192.98 Total Cash & investment Pool 207.318.06 71442 Mitigation Fees • Misc. Receipts 1,492.36 • Ending Cash Balance 1,492.36 Prior Investment Balance 10,460.59 Purchases & Pool Earnings 7.33 10.467.92 Ending Investment Balance Total Cash & Investment Pool 11,960.28

71410 Go Bond

 Debt Outstanding 1,061,488.55

Bank of the Pacific Statement:

•	Beginning Balance (05/01/2021)	1,621.01
•	Deposits/Misc. Credits 27	35,134.19
•	Withdrawals/Misc. Credits 5	29,086.75
•	Ending Balance (05/31/2021)	7,668.45

Meeting Minutes:

Regular Commissioner Meeting Minutes for May 11, 2021:

Motion: Commissioner Moe motioned to accept meeting minutes for May 11, 2021. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Graham and approved.

Claim Payment Request & Payroll:

Claim Vouchers and Payroll dated June 08, 2021:

Motion: Commissioner Graham motioned to accept the claim vouchers and payroll dated June 08, 2021. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Moe and approved.

BVFF Physical Reimbursements:

Motion: Commissioner Graham motioned to approve the reimbursements. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Bjornstad and approved.

Old Business:

City of Sumas and Annexation with Fire District 14:

- District Chief DeBruin indicated he reached out to attorney Rich Davis about the possibility of the City of Sumas to annex with the fire district.
- District Chief DeBruin noted that Rich Davis will reach out to the City of Sumas' attorney, Jim Wright.
- Discussion continued
- District Chief DeBruin indicated we should know more in few days or so.

Station Reports:

• No Reports.

Training Officer Moe:

Wildland Training:

• Training Officer Moe indicated Wildland training has been completed.

Airpacks:

• Training Officer Moe spoke to the airpacks being in service.

Burn House Training:

• Training Officer Moe and District Chief DeBruin noted there is a possible barn burn for training purposes.

District Chief DeBruin:

New Gurnevs:

- District Chief DeBruin spoke to a 3-year or 5-year purchase plan on purchasing a power load system to be used with the new gurneys.
- Discussion continued.
- District Chief DeBruin suggested we revisit this topic in a few months.

New Business:

Peoples Bank Loan payment update:

- Administrative Secretary Olson indicated there was a double payment made in error
- The Treasurer's office is initiating payment on this loan through the fiscal agent, (US Bank Bond Registrar)
- Peoples Bank reimbursed the duplicate

Jaws Unit:

- District Chief DeBruin spoke to a used first generation Jaws unit
- District Chief DeBruin felt it is probably better to wait and find a deal on newer one.

Good of the Order:

• Training Officer Moe spoke to some extra COVID-19 supplies they were able to get.

Meeting adjourned at 4:50PM with commissioners in agreement.

The next regular meeting will be (on July 13, 2021 at 4:00 PM at the
Commissioner-Chair, RobRoy Graham	Commissioner, Leonard Bjornstad
Commissioner, Chris Moe	Administrative Secretary, Jo Olson