

# WHATCOM COUNTY FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT NO.14 REGULAR COMMISSIONERS' MEETING June 11, 2024

**PRESENT:** Commissioner RobRoy Graham, Commissioner Chris Moe, Commissioner Russell Vreugdenhil, District Chief Jerry DeBruin, Assistant District Chief David Moe, and District Administrator Jo Olson.

Absent: Battalion Chief Frank Cain Jr., Battalion Chief Jay Van Middendorp

#### **Guests:**

Meeting called to order at 4:00PM.

# Items approved and signed by the Commissioners:

- Approval of Regular Meeting Minutes May 11, 2024
- Approval of Current Warrants and Payroll
  - o Warrants in the amount of \$62,806.64. & ACH \$1,502.66
  - Payroll in the amount of \$51,767.43
- Approval Asset Addition, Shelter Trailer
- Resolution 2024-01 Updated PayScale

# May's 2024 Treasurers Report:

# 714 Expense Fund

E PROCINCE I GITTE	
• Starting Cash Balance	639,338.92
<ul> <li>Tax Receipts</li> </ul>	132,635.91
<ul> <li>Misc. Receipts</li> </ul>	39,189.00
<ul> <li>Transfer in</li> </ul>	1,621.01
<ul> <li>Warrants/Remittances</li> </ul>	126,260.69
<ul> <li>Ending Cash Balance</li> </ul>	686,524.16
<ul> <li>Prior Investment Balance</li> </ul>	33,700.22
<ul> <li>Purchase &amp; Pool Earnings</li> </ul>	96.19
<ul> <li>Ending Investment Balance</li> </ul>	33,796.41
<ul> <li>Total Cash &amp; Investment Pool</li> </ul>	720,320.57

#### 71420 Reserve Fund 383,849.01 • Starting Cash Balance • Misc. Receipts 22,000.00 • Transfer Out 94,717.40 Ending Cash Balance 311,131.61 647,461.75 Prior Investment Balance Purchase & Pool Earnings 1,847.88 649,309.63 • Ending Investment Balance • Total Cash & Investment Pool 960,441.24 71410 Go Bond • Transfer In 97,717.40 Prior Debt Outstanding 1,193,741.28 • Debt Outstanding 1,193,741.28 Bank of the Pacific Statement: • Beginning Balance (5/01/2024) 8,349.77 • Deposits/Misc. Credits 26 28,198.45 • Withdrawals/Misc. Credits 6 35,663.71 • Ending Balance (5/31/2024) 884.51

### **Meeting Minutes:**

May 2024 Regular Meeting Minutes:

**Motion**: Commissioner Moe **motioned** to accept the Regular meeting minutes. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Vreugdenhil and approved.

# **Claim Payment Request & Payroll:**

June 2024 Claim Vouchers and Payroll:

**Motion:** Commissioner Graham **motioned** to accept the Claim Vouchers and Payroll. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Vreugdenhil and approved.

#### **Asset Addition Shelter Trailer:**

**Motion:** Commissioner Vreugdenhil **motioned** to accept the Addition of the Shelter Trailer. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Graham and approved.

#### Resolution 2024-01:

Updated PayScale for 2024

**Motion:** Commissioner Graham **motioned** to accept the updated PayScale for 2024. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Vreugdenhil and approved.

# **Old Business:**

Skid:

- Assistant Chief Moe noted the print out for the skid for the new army truck has been approved:
- Assistant Chief Moe mentioned the needed parts and additions for the new army truck have been ordered.
- Assistant Chief Moe indicated it probably won't be in service until late fall.

#### LifePAK/LUCAS:

Assistant Chief Moe indicated the LUCAS and LifePAK are here and in service.

#### **Sumas Station:**

• Commissioner Vreugdenhil indicated nothing new on Sumas Station.

### **District Chief DeBruin:**

• District Chief had nothing further to add.

# **Assistant District Chief Moe:**

- Assistant Chief Moe spoke to DNR & Whatcom Conservation District and fire prevention.
- Assistant Chief Moe mentioned the Red Card class has completed.
- Assistant Chief Moe indicated the Fire Academy is wrapping up and noted graduation date is on July 1, 2024.
- Assistant Chief Moe noted hazmat training is in process.

# **Station Reports:**

Station 91:

No report

Station 92:

No report

Station 93:

No report

# **New Business:**

Budget and Loans:

• The budget was discussed along with the outstanding loans and paying one off.

Meeting adjourned at 4:40PM with commissioners in agreement.

The next regular meeting will be on July 9, 2024 at <b>4:00 PM</b> at the Kendall Station:	
Commissioner-Chair, RobRoy Graham	Commissioner, Chris Moe
Commissioner Russell Vreuadenhil	District Administrator To Olson