

WHATCOM COUNTY FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT NO.14 REGULAR COMMISSIONERS' MEETING January 9, 2024

PRESENT: Commissioner RobRoy Graham, Commissioner Chris Moe, Commissioner Russell Vreugdenhil, District Chief Jerry DeBruin, Assistant District Chief David Moe, Battalion Chief Frank Cain Jr., and District Administrator Jo Olson.

Absent: Battalion Chief Jay Van Middendorp

Guests:

Meeting called to order at 4:00PM.

Items approved and signed by the Commissioners:

- Approval of Regular Meeting Minutes December, 2023
- Approval of Current Warrants and Payroll
 - Warrants in the amount of \$48,856.13 & ACH \$2,137.70
 - Payroll in the amount of \$57,001.18

Commissioner Vreugdenhil

- District Administrator Olson noted Commissioner Vreugdenhil Oath of Office paperwork was recorded with the County Auditor's office.
- Commissioner Graham and Commissioner Moe welcomed Commissioner Vreugdenhil aboard.

December's 2023 Treasurers Report:

Note: Official Report not ready but a Month to date (1/8/24) report was requested from the County for Meeting.

714 Expense Fund 627,168.35 • Cash Total 627,168.35 • Investment Total 33,340.81 71420 Reserve Fund 295,849.01 • Cash Total 295,849.01 • Investment Total 302,756.06

Bank of the Pacific Statement:

- Beginning Balance (12/01/2023) 495.01
- Deposits/Misc. Credits 18 13,074.08
 Withdrawals/Misc. Credits 5 12,538.04
- Ending Balance (12/31/2023) 1,031.05
- Ending Balance (12/31/2023)

Meeting Minutes:

December 2023 Regular Commissioners Meeting Minutes:

Motion: Commissioner Moe **motioned** to accept the Regular meeting minutes. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Vreugdenhil and approved.

Claim Payment Request & Payroll:

January 2024 Claim Vouchers and Payroll:

Motion: Commissioner Graham **motioned** to accept the claim vouchers and payroll. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Moe and approved.

Old Business:

• City of Sumas Agreement Amendment for 2024

Motion: Commissioner Graham **motioned** to accept the City of Sumas Agreement Amendment for 2024. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Vreugdenhil and approved.

• Agreement Amendment was signed by commissioners.

Fuel Cards through Coleman Fuel:

- Assistant Chief Moe indicated new fuel cards are now being used.
- District Administrator Olson noted Christensen Fuel will be cancelled as soon as account is settled up.

Property in Sumas:

• District Chief DeBruin noted the property has been sold and funds received and deposited with the County.

District Chief DeBruin:

Welcome Station:

• District Chief DeBruin noted all the new volunteers at the Welcome Station and noted how nice it was having them respond so timely.

Assistant District Chief Moe:

• Assistant Chief Moe noted all is going well, normal operations.

Training:

- Assistant Chief Moe mentioned the one new person in the EMT Class
- Assistant Chief Moe mentioned the Fire Academy coming up in the summer or fall. Babysitting Class:
 - Assistant Chief Moe mentioned the babysitting class being put on at Kendall Station by the volunteers.

Station Reports:

Station 91:

• No report

Station 92:

• Battalion Chief Frank Cain Jr. noted all is going great at Kendall Station. Station 93:

Overhanging Tree Branches at Welcome Station:

• Battalion Chief Frank Cain Jr. indicated this work will be done soon.

New Business:

Election of the 2024 Board Chair:

• Discussed and agreed to elect a commissioner chair at the first meeting of the new year.

Motion: Commissioner Moe **motioned** to elect Commissioner Graham as Chair Commissioner for 2024. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Vreugdenhil and approved.

Declaration of Protest of Whatcom County Council Resolution 2023-054:

- Commissioner Graham spoke to the Declaration of Protest of Whatcom County Council Resolution 2023-054.
- Discussion continued.

Meeting adjourned at 4:40 PM with commissioners in agreement.

The next regular meeting will be on February 13, 2024 at **4:00 PM** at the Kendall Station:

 Commissioner-Chair, RobRoy Graham
 Commissioner, Chris Moe

 Commissioner, Russell Vreugdenhil
 District Administrator, Jo Olson