

WHATCOM COUNTY FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT NO.14 REGULAR COMMISSIONERS' MEETING March 14, 2023

PRESENT: Commissioner RobRoy Graham, Commissioner Chris Moe, Commissioner Russell Vreugdenhil, District Chief Jerry DeBruin, Assistant District Chief David Moe and District Administrator Jo Olson.

Absent: Battalion Chief Frank Cain Jr., and Battalion Chief Jay Van Middendorp

GUESTS:

Meeting called to order at 4:00PM.

Oath of Office for Russell Vreugdenhil:

• Commissioner Graham and Commissioner Moe welcomed Commissioner Vreugdenhil

Items approved and signed by the Commissioners:

- Approval of Regular Meeting & Special Minutes February 14, 2023 & February 22, 2023
- Approval of Current Claim Payment Request & Payroll
- 714 Warrants in the amount of \$124,082.94
- Payroll in the amount of \$49,955.34

February 2023 Treasurers Report:

714 Expense Fund

| Starting Cash Balance | 121,549.71 |
|--|------------|
| Tax Receipts | 8,988.61 |
| Misc. Receipts | 504,089.42 |
| Warrants/Remittances | 188,994.35 |
| Refunds Interest Paid | 6.88 |
| Total Disbursements | 189,001.23 |
| Ending Cash Balance | 445,626.51 |
| Prior Investment Balance | 32,523.37 |
| Purchase & Pool Earnings | 116.67 |
| Ending Investment Balance | 32,640.04 |
| Total Cash & Investment Pool | 478,266.55 |

71420 Reserve Fund • Starting Cash Balance 249.190.02 • Misc. Receipts 19,630.64 268,820.66 • Ending Cash Balance Prior Investment Balance 191,276.97 260.24 Purchases Pool Earnings Ending Investment Balance 191,537.21 Total Cash & investment Pool 460,357.87 71442 Mitigation Fees • Starting Cash Balance 3.57 • Ending Investment Balance 3.57 71410 Go Bond Debt Outstanding 866,421.01 Bank of the Pacific Statement: • Beginning Balance (02/01/2023) 1,676.23 • Deposits/Misc. Credits 20 13,383.40 Withdrawals/Misc. Credits 5 10.360.49 Ending Balance (02/28/2023) 4,699.14

Meeting Minutes:

February 2023 Regular Commissioners Meeting Minutes:

Motion: Commissioner Moe **motioned** to accept the Regular meeting minutes. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Vreugdenhil and approved.

Meeting Minutes:

February 2023 Special Commissioners Meeting Minutes:

Motion: Commissioner Moe **motioned** to accept the Special meeting minutes. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Graham and approved.

Claim Payment Request & Payroll:

March 2023 Claim Vouchers and Payroll.

Motion: Commissioner Moe **motioned** to accept the claim vouchers and payroll. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Graham and approved.

Old Business:

Sumas Flood Damage:

• Assistant Chief Moe & District Chief DeBruin indicated the repairs are pretty much done at the Sumas station.

Property Sale in Sumas:

• District Chief DeBruin indicated no change it is still in the works.

Assistant District Chief Moe:

Training:

- Assistant District Chief Moe spoke to the Fire Academy and EMT class.
- Assistant District Chief Moe noted that T-92 was in at HUB for repairs.

District Chief DeBruin:

• District Chief DeBruin noted we received an invoice for the new fire truck earlier than expected.

Station Reports:

Kendall Station:

• Battalion Chief Frank Cain Jr.: Absent no report

Sumas Station:

• Battalion Chief Jay Van Middendorp: Absent no report

New Business:

Approval of Resolution 2023-02 ACH Payment for Exxon Fuel.

Motion: Commissioner Graham **motioned** to accept **Resolution 2023-02** approving the use of an ACH payment for Exxon Fuel. The motion was **seconded** by Commissioner Vreugdenhil.

Increase of Real Property on the Ballot:

- Discussion on increasing the tax levy was discussed.
- Discussion continued on when to submit measure, the impact it might have, and why it is desperately needed.
- Assistant District Chief Moe will put together some numbers for the commissioners.

| District Chief DeBruin discussed a few district calls. | | |
|--|---|--|
| Meeting adjourned at 5:17 PM with commissioners in agreement. | | |
| The next regular meeting will be on April | 11, 2023 at 4:00 PM at the Kendall Station | |
| | | |
| Commissioner-Chair, RobRoy Graham | Commissioner, Chris Moe | |
| | | |
| | | |

Commissioner, Russell Vreugdenhill District Administrator, Jo Olson

Good of the Order: