## Vermillion Township Annual Meeting March 9, 2021

## **Opening**

Clerk Sloan called the meeting to order at 8:41 pm. In attendance were:

Chris Schaffer

Larry Ring

Bruce Lohmann

Chris Haan

Lewellyn Stoffel

Kenny Kasel

James Sathra

John Mcanamara

Rachel McNamara

Dianne Volkert-Ring

Wendy Rueger

Nick Rueger

Cindy Ladzun

Jim Ryan

Bonita Kaczmareck

Jim Kaczmarkeck

David Felty

**Audrey Felty** 

Peg Siebenaler

Darold Siebenaler

Duane Groth

Deb Carlson

Ralph Meyers

John Ferguson

Cheryl Bonderson

Greg Stoffel

Pat Ries

Jenny Ries

Cliff Larson

**Brad Briercliffe** 

The Clerk solicited nominations for moderator. Chris Haan was nominated. Judy Sloan motioned to have Chris Haan as moderator. Seconded by Jim Sathra. Motion carried.

Clerk Sloan read the 2020 annual meeting minutes, the public notice of the 2021 annual meeting. (On note sheet/agenda - Due to the on-going investigation, the abbreviated reading of the Treasurer's report will not take place. Please submit questions to the Board so they can be addressed after the investigation is finished). Wally Stoffel motioned to accept the information as read. Brad Briercliffe seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Darold Siebenaler moved to hold the annual election at the USW Local 662 hall and that the election would be held between the hours of 8:00 am and 8:00 pm. Seconded by Audrey Felty. Motion carried.

Motion by Cheryl Bonderson to set the time of the 2022 Annual Town Meeting to the closing of the polls. Seconded by James Sathra. Motion carried.

Motion by Jim Ryan to set the third Tuesday of every month at 7:30 pm at the Vermillion Towns Hall for the regular monthly meetings. Seconded by Bruce Lohmann. Motion carried.

Motion by Chris Schaffer to set the Fire Fund levy at \$108,000.00 for 2022. Seconded by Jim Ryan. Motion carried.

The year 2022 is the 1st of a two-year contract for fire services.

Motion by Ralph Meyers to set the Road and Bridge Fund levy at \$280,000.00 for 2022. Seconded by Darold Siebenaler.

Motion by Bruce Lohmann to set the General Fund levy at \$82,000.00 for 2022. Seconded by James Sathra. Motion carried.

Motion by Cheryl Bonderson to use the Dakota County Tribune as the official newspaper. Seconded by Bruce Lohmann. Motion carried.

The Board of Canvass was held: Judy Sloan motioned to accept the voting results as presented. Peg Sienbenaler seconded the motion. Motion carried. Audrey Felty was elected as Supervisor and Cynthia Ladzun was elected as Clerk and Nick Rueger was elected as Treasurer.

Other discussion ensued regarding destroyed lawns by disc, have bills read out and have a professional audit done every year or two.

Motion by Darold Siebenaler to adjourn the annual meeting at 10:32 p.m. Seconded by Bruce Lohmann. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Cynthia Ladzun Deputy Clerk, Vermillion Township