## **5th (2021) Annual State-Wide Competition for Food Safety Modernization Act, Food Safety, and Food Science Students**

**Finalists in Food Policies Category:** 

First Place: Minoo Bagheri Naraghi, Vanderbilt University of Medical Sciences (Award: \$300) Second Place: Christian Landskroener, Tennessee State University (Award: \$200) Third Place: Morgan Roberts, Tennessee State University (Award: \$100)

Finalists in Oral Competitions for Students: First Place: Sabrina Wadood, Tennessee State University (Award: \$300) Second Place: Ran Yang, University of Tennessee (Award: \$200) Third Place: Sadiye Aras, Tennessee State University (Award: \$100)

Finalists in Poster Competitions for Students: First Place: Alexia Angelos, University of Tennessee (Award: \$300) Second Place: Jyothi George, Tennessee State University (Award: \$200) Third Place: Yun Tian, Tennessee State University (Award: \$100)

## 4th (2020) Annual State-Wide Competition for Food Safety Modernization Act, Food Safety, and Food Science Students

### **Emerging Leaders Category:**

First Place (tied): Dr. M. Naraghi, Vanderbilt University of Medical Sciences (Award: \$350) First Place (tied): Dr. Tylor-Bowden, Tennessee State University (Award: \$350) Second Place: Dr. Md Niamul Kabir, Tennessee State University (Award: \$200) Third Place: Not awarded this year.

**Finalists in Oral Competitions for Students:** 

First Place: Sabrina Wadood, Tennessee State University (Award: \$400) Second Place: Jyothi George, Tennessee State University (Award: \$300) Third Place: Sadiye Aras, Tennessee State University (Award: \$200)

#### **Finalists in Poster Competitions for Students:**

First Place: Andrea Nieto Veloza, University of Tennessee (Award: \$350) Second Place: Anika Chowdhury, Middle Tennessee State University (Award: \$250) Third Place (tied): Shreya Hamal, Tennessee State University (Award: \$150) Third Place (tied): Akiliyah Sumlin, Tennessee State University (Award: \$150)

# **3rd (2019) Annual State-Wide Competition for Food Safety Modernization Act, Food Safety, and Food Science Students**

2019 Graduate Oral Competition Winners 1st Place (tied): Monica Henry, TSU 1st Place (tied): Trent Kerley, UT 2nd Place: Abimbola Allison, TSU 3rd Place: Shan Hong, UT

2019 Graduate Oral Competition Winners 1st Place (tied): Jennifer Vuia-Riser, UT 1st Place (tied): Kaleh Karim, TSU 2nd Place (tied): Shreya Singh Hamal, TSU 2nd Place (tied): Purni Wickramasinghe, UT 3rd: Place Jayashan Adhikari, TSU

## 2nd (2018) Annual State-Wide Competition for Food Safety Modernization Act, Food Safety, and Food Science Students

2018 Graduate Competition Winners 1st Place (tied) Monica Henry: Graduate Competition, TSU 1st Place (tied) Grace Shupe: Graduate Competition, UT 2nd Place Devendra Bhandari: Graduate Competition, TSU 3rd Place Michelle Heatherly: Graduate Competition, UT

2018 Undergraduate Competition Winners 1st Place Braxton Simpson: Undergraduate Competition, TSU 2nd Place Akiliyah Sumlin: Undergraduate Competition, TSU 3rd Place (tied) Kristin Day: Undergraduate Competition, TSU 3rd Place (tied) Kayla Sampson: Undergraduate Competition, TSU

### 1st (2017) Annual State-Wide Competition for Food Safety Modernization Act, Food Safety, and Food Science Students

2017 Competition Winners 1st place Danielle Gunter-Ward 2nd place Li Wang 3rd place Shreya Singh Hamal