

Volunteer Section IFT 2018 | Public Health Microbiology Laboratory of TSU

2nd Annual State-wide Poster Competition for Food Safety Modernization Act, Food Safety, and Food Science Students

Date and Time:

Thursday April 26 3:00 to 7:30 pm (central time)

Tentative Agenda:

3:00 to 4:00 pm: Tour of TSU high pressure processing facility (optional) 4:00 to 4:45 pm: Registration, poster set up, and networking 5:00 to 6:00 pm: Graduate students' poster competitions 6:00 to 7:00 pm: Undergraduate students' poster competitions 7:00 to 7:30 pm: Judges discussions 7:30 pm: Announcement of awardees

Location:

Tennessee State University, College of Agriculture Farrell Westbrook Research Complex, Auditorium 118 3500 John A Merritt Blvd, Nashville, TN 37209

Question:

Competition Organizer, A. Fouladkhah. Phone: (970) 690-7392 Email: afouladk@tnstate.edu



Volunteer Section Institute of Food Technologists

Submission Guideline:

You are cordially invited to submit an abstract for 2018 Graduate and Undergraduate Poster Competitions. Students who are planning to present/compete in IFT18 in Chicago or closely allied organizations are strongly encouraged to apply. Please submit title of your poster, 250 word abstract, and name of you advisor by **Friday April 13 5:00 pm** (central time). You will be notified about status of your abstract on April 16, 2018. Up to 10 accepted posters in each division will be entered for onsite competition evaluated by three judges and top three posters will be awarded \$600, \$300, \$100* for Graduate division and \$500, \$250, and \$75* for undergraduate divisions. The competition is free of cost for attendees. Current students in any institutions in Tennessee are cordially invited to apply.

Please note that per policy of the funding agency for this competition meals will not be provided.

*Awards will be mailed to the awardees approximately up to two month after the event after completion of W-9 forms and other paperwork. There is a myriad of regulation for issuing the awards and appreciate in advance the awardee's patience. The awards are supported by Tennessee State University Public Health Microbiology Laboratory (USDA NIFA projects 2017-07534; 2017-04975; 2017-06088; 2016-07430; 2015-09163).

High Pressure Processing Tour/Demonstration (optional):

Please RSVP by Friday April 13 5:00 pm (central time) by Email: afouladk@tnstate.edu or Phone: (970)690-7392



Graduate Students Competition:

Please submit your poster abstract (250 words), title, and name of your advisor by Friday April 13, 5:00 pm via Email to afouladk@tnstate.edu, please also carbon copy S. Chowdhury, Graduate Student Competition Co-chair at: schowdh1@tnstate.edu

Undergraduate Student Competitions

Please submit your poster abstract (250 words), title, and name of your advisor by Friday April 13, 5:00 pm by Email: afouladk@tnstate.edu, please also carbon copy Abimbola Allison and Monica Henry, Undergraduate Student Competition Co-chairs at: abimbolaallison20@gmail.com and mhenry8@bulldogs.aamu.edu

Direction to TSU:

Tennessee State University campus in Nashville, College of Agriculture, 118 Farrell West Brook Auditorium.

3500 John A Merritt Blvd, Nashville, TN 37209

Once you arrive, you will see some tennis courts in immediate vicinity of the meeting location, also look for TSU Agricultural Complex signs. If you have any question for finding the location please call Aliyar Fouladkhah at (970) 690-7392.



2017-2018 Volunteer (Tennessee) section of Institute of Food Technologists Officers

http://volunteer-ift.org/

	1 5	0
President	Aliyar Fouladkhah	Tennessee State University
President Elect	Qixin Zhong	University of Tennessee
Past President	Mickey Miller	Bush Brothers & Co.
Secretary	Valerie Bradley	Consultant
Treasurer	Karen Powers	Nic's Foods
Member at Large	Virginia Mercer	McKee Foods Crop.
Member at Large	Tyler Greeson	Consultant
Member at Large	Trey Harness	McKee Foods Crop.
Student Rep	Alexis Hamilton	University of Tennessee
Student Rep	Jenifer Vuia-Riser	University of Tennessee
Student Rep	Abimbola Allison	Tennessee State University
Faculty	Mark Morgan	University of Tennessee

2018 Competition Committee

Organizer and Chair	Aliyar Fouladkhah	Vol. section IFT
Graduate Competition Co-chair	Shahid Chowdhury	Public Health Microbiology Laboratory
Undergraduate Competition Co-chair	Abimbola Allison	Public Health Microbiology Laboratory
Undergraduate Competition Co-chair	Monica Henry	Public Health Microbiology Laboratory

2017 Competition

1st place Danielle Gunter-Ward

2nd place Li Wang

3rd place Shreya Singh Hamal



2017 Judges: Dr. Colin Dennis, Dr. Fur-Chi Chen, Mickey Miller, and Tyler Greeson and IFT staff Representative Mike McCarthy