## Acle Regatta a huge success under new custodianship

Glorious weather launched Acle Regatta 2024 under the new custodianship of the Great Yarmouth Yacht Club, nearly nine decades after it last ran it.

The historic club launched the event in 1890 when it attracted over 150 sailing craft with professional crews and continued until 1937, in 1938 the club merged with others to form Norfolk Broads Yacht Club and Acle Regatta was scrapped.

It was revived in 1978 when five men, John Wilson, Mike Kippen, Neville Pratt, Andy Cavel and Bill Speed, then landlord of the Acle Bridge Inn, formed Acle Sailing Club and over the years raised £20,000 for charity. They were soon joined by John's son, Roger.

On May 18<sup>th</sup> Roger opened the 2024 regatta and handed over the helm to Neal Duffield, Commodore of Great Yarmouth Yacht Club (GYYC) who thanked the members of Acle Sailing Club for reviving and maintaining the regatta over 45 years.

Great Yarmouth Yacht Club itself was reinstated only ten years ago when Mark Duffield negotiated Clexit (Club exit from NBYC) so it once again become an independent club. When asked to take on the running of Acle Regatta the three Duffield brothers, Neal, (Commodore) Mark (Treasurer), Malcom (Regatta Officer) and Mike Lees (Vice Commodore) took the bull by the horns and decided to restore the racing programme of yesteryear by offering races for both River Cruisers and keelboats. Fifteen boats took part, including three of the former organisers, Roger Wilson, Mike Kippen and Neville Pratt sailing Roger's River Cruiser Halcyon.

## Hilary Franzen GYYC Secretary

## Regatta Report

The weather for the whole weekend was sunny periods and warm (if sheltered) but with a cool northerly wind both days. With the permission of Northern Rivers the start line was moved up river to their base allowing an upwind start for the races.

For the first RCC Saturday afternoon race the course was set using marks B (upriver just south of Oby Dyke) and A (downriver just before the moorings) both to port, with two rounds to be sailed. A total of 12 cruisers started. Unfortunately during the race the wind died a little resulting in a very long and strenuous beat resulting in the race being shortened. Interestingly, although the race was

shortened all boats, bar Nutcracker finished with their fellow start fleet. The race was won by Stella - Tim Frary sailing, 2<sup>nd</sup> Melinda - Paul Howes and 3<sup>rd</sup> Bewitched - C Chettleburgh.

The  $2^{nd}$  race for the GYYC dish followed and the course was altered to marks C and A, again both to port with two rounds set. For this race the wind stayed up and with a shorter course the winner was Pippinjack - Paul Stevens,  $2^{nd}$  Mystery - Matt Ford, and  $3^{rd}$  Melinda – Paul Howes

Sunday morning saw the pursuit race. The course set was upriver to B, down river to A, then to C and back to A until the time limit was reached. The wind had risen slightly and stayed in. The handicaps ranged from +16 to -20, resulting in the race lasting 1hr 58 mins. The race was won by M Elson in his Yeoman 185, followed by Mark Duffield in his Brown Boat 88, Morehen, and RC Pippinjack, 318, Paul Stevens.

The final race of the series was once again round marks A and C, two rounds set. Due to needing time for prize giving the race was once again shortened to one round to give the slower fleet time to return to the moorings. Being on the start/finish line the race officers did not see much of the fleets and any tacking duels. However I must mention the finish between Tinkerbell (A Lincoln) and Mystery (M Ford), who were no more than about 3 feet apart on the final reach. Tinkerbell was leading and cover tacking Mystery, with no quarter being given by either. About 60 feet from the line Mystery got in front of Tinkerbell, giving the advantage of a clear path to the nearest end of the finish line. Mystery just took the line from Tinkerbell by about 3 feet at the most. The only downside being there was no one able to take photos of it. The race was won by Sabrina 2 – John Holmes 2<sup>nd</sup> Melinda Paul Howes and 3<sup>rd</sup> Pippinjack – Paul Stevens.

Showing that you do not necessarily have to win every race to claim overall winner the Acle Regatta Shield was won by Paul Howes sailing Melinda

Cruisers were invited to compete at the GYYC Club's Autumn Regatta on September 28<sup>th</sup> and 29<sup>th</sup> at Thurne Mouth when the Garson Lovewell Blake barometer will be awarded to the combined overall winner of Acle Regatta and the Autumn Regatta.

## **Malcom Duffield**

Regatta Officer