

LMA newsletter #1 2024

Report of the Nominating Committee

For publication to the membership

To all members, please review the following report.

As per the current and proposed Bylaws, this report is being published 30 days prior to the 2024 conference.

During the February 3, 2024 board meeting the President, Skip Lavespere appointed a nominating committee for the purpose of identifying potential officers and board members of the Louisiana Mayhaw Association. The committee consisted of JJ Futch, Melvin Book, and Don Lord. Representing the Northern, Central and Southern regions respectively.

In an effort to maintain continuity of business, and acknowledging the short initial period of holding offices, the committee has recommended that the current officers and board members retain their original positions for the initial term, or until the 2025 conference. As per the existing Bylaws and also the draft Bylaws to be voted on during the 2024 conference, elections of board members of odd numbered regions will resume at the 2025 conference.

Shortly after the 2023 elections, the Region One Board member retired. Joy Williams from Shreveport was subsequently nominated and installed by a majority vote of the Board of Directors to fill the Region One position for the remainder of the term, ending in 2025. Joy's confirmation by majority vote of the membership will take place at the 2024 conference.

Mark Jones

Secretary