

Governor Joseph Hiester Chapter Sons of the American Revolution

A quarterly meeting of the Gov. Joseph Hiester Chapter, SAR, was held on Thursday, March 10th, 2016 at the Inn at Reading, 1040 N. Park Road, Wyomissing, PA 19610.

19 Members and 15 Guests were in attendance per the reservation list.

The meeting was called to order at 6:35 P.M. by President Leon E. Adam.

The Pledge of Allegiance, National Anthem, and Pledge to the SAR were led by Bruce L. Dietrich.

The Invocation was given by Chaplain Dr. David Brock

President Leon E. Adam installed David T. Shultz as chapter Secretary.

Dinner was served.

Guest speaker Michael C. Harris gave an interesting presentation on the Battle of Brandywine from the perspective of a Hessian Jaeger officer.

The minutes of the December 3rd, 2015 Quarterly Meeting were reviewed, and upon motion approved as submitted.

President's Report: Leon Adam

- Identifying and marking the graves of Revolutionary War Patriots at Moselem Church in preparation for Allegiance Sunday.
- Allegiance Sunday will be June 12, 2016, at Moselem Church. Time is still TBD.
- Looking at possibilities for 2017 Allegiance Sunday, and having a Conrad Weiser reenactor for the June Quarterly meeting.

Treasurer's Report Summary: David Loose

Balance 12/3/15 \$	8,358.83
Income	2,476.00
Disbursements	<u>4,908.96</u>
Cash on Hand* 3/10/16	5,925.87
Cash in Savings 3/10/16	5,128.51
Balance 3/10/16 \$	11,054.38

^{*}Included in Cash on Hand: reserves for the Color Guard Fund (\$1,277.06), Youth Activities Fund (\$972.95).

The Treasurer's Report was accepted and filed for Audit.

Genealogist Report: Eric Troutman

New Members	Ancestors
Joseph J. Galasione	Jacob Quackenbush
Thomas D. Leidy	Solomon Lane
Edgar G. E. Morgan	Sebastian Morian
Peter Reinhart	George Kaufman
John W. Reinhart	George Kaufman
Carl W. Yeich	Michael Jeich
Elmer H. Zimmerman	Bernhardt Zimmerman
Supplementals Approved	
Raymond H. Longacre	Benjamin Dyer, Jonathan Grunewald, & Baltzer Bitzer/Pitzer
Larry A. Magdy	Jonathan Grunewald & Baltzer Bitzer/Pitzer
Gerald C. Peppel	Jonathan Grunewald & Baltzer Bitzer/Pitzer
Eric H. Troutman	Johannes "John" Zechman
Applications at National Headquarters	
New Member Applications	Brian A. Aynardi, William J. Faust, & William R. Snook
Supplemental Applications	Raymond H. Longacre (2), Larry A. Magdy (2), Gerald C. Peppel, & Eric H. Troutman (2)

Our Chapter currently has about 136 members and 12 prospective members.

Committee Reports:

- Eagle Scout: Barry Kauffman

Brendan Salyards, our chapter's 2015 essay winner, is also the PASSAR winner for 2015.

- Veterans: No report.

- Color Guard: No report.

- Finance: No report.

- Audit: Bruce Dietrich

The Treasurer's books and accounts were reviewed by the committee on February 4, 2016, and found to be correct and in good order.

Old Business:

❖ Allegiance Sunday will be held on Sunday, **June 12**, **2016** at Moselem Lutheran Church in Kutztown, PA. Time is still TBD.

New Business: None.

President Leon Adam announced that the next Executive Committee meeting will be Monday, May 9th, 6:30 PM at the Geneological Society office at Goggleworks. All interested members are welcome.

The next Quarterly dinner meeting will be Thursday, June 9th.

The PASSAR annual meeting will be the first weekend in May at the Eden Resort in Lancaster.

Nevin Miller spoke about the importance of supporting the Eagle Scout program and that we need more Compatriots to become presenters for the Courts of Honor.

The members recited the SAR Recessional.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:45 P.M.

Respectfully submitted, David T. Shultz, Secretary

Attachments: Reservation List

Reservation List

- 1 Thomas Leidy, SAR
- 2 Mary Ellen Leidy
- 3 Larry Magdy, SAR
- 4 Marty Goetz, SAR
- 5 Jane Goetz
- 6 Raymond Longacre, SAR
- 7 Miles Dechant, SAR
- 8 Betty Dechant, DAR
- 9 Barry Kauffman, SAR
- 10 Mariann Kauffman
- 11 Bruce Dietrich, SAR
- 12 Dodson Dietrich, SAR
- 13 Dave Brock, SAR
- 14 Steve Brock, SAR
- 15 Leon Adam, SAR
- 16 Lenora Adam
- 17 Mr. Steve Crook, SAR
- 18 Mrs. Crook
- 19 Eric H. Troutman, SAR
- 20 Stephanie Troutman, DAR
- 21 Robert Hillegas, SAR
- 22 Thomas Stewart, SAR
- 23 Ronald Fisk, SAR
- 24 Glen Weyer, SAR
- 25 David Kohan
- 26 Michael C. Harris Guest Speaker
- 27 Gerald Peppel, SAR
- 28 Lee Terrey
- 29 Steve Terrey
- 30 Nevin C. Miller, SAR
- 31 Mary Bahr, DAR
- 32 Sean Teaford
- 33 David Shultzm SAR
- 34 Sophia Shultz