2020 VOTER KNOW BEFORE YOU GO

Early voting begins Oct. 13 and goes through Oct. 30. Election Day is Nov. 3

Early Voting Dates: Oct.13 through Oct. 30: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. (except Sundays) • Oct. 18 and Oct. 25: 1 to 6 p.m.

Bond Elections

Proposition A

Approving the City's property tax rate and dedicating 8.75 cents of the operations and maintenance portion of the tax rate for Project Connect, a high-capacity transit system.

Proposition A asks voters to vote for or against approving the maintenance and operations portion of the City's property tax rate and dedicating 8.75-cents towards the implementation of Project Connect, and ensuring that the initial investment is completed.

The City of Austin is one of multiple taxing entities to which property owners pay property taxes annually. Approval of Proposition A would dedicate 8.75 cents of the City's property tax rate revenue to the Austin Transit Partnership to fund implementation of Project Connect. If approved by voters, the Project Connect portion of the City's property tax rate would become part of the City's property tax rate each year.

The estimated tax bill impact of passage of Proposition A is an approximation-based Fiscal Year 2020/2021 property tax rate. This property tax rate reflects assumptions about market and economic conditions and may be subject to change.

The anticipated annual tax bill impact is based on taxable home value. Taxable home value is the appraised value of a home after property tax exemptions have been applied, such as the homestead exemption or the senior exemption.

Home Value	Anticipated Annual Impact	Anticipated Monthly Impac
\$250,000	\$219	\$18.23
\$325,000	\$284	\$23.70
\$500,000	\$438	\$36.46
\$750,000	\$656	\$54.69.

Ballot Language

The Proposition will appear on the official ballot in substantially the following form, and the ballot shall be prepared to permit voting "for" or "against" the Proposition: "Approving the ad valorem tax rate of \$0.5335 per \$ 100 valuation in the City of Austin for the current year, a rate that is \$0.0875 higher per \$100 valuation than the voter-approval tax rate of the City of Austin, for the purpose of providing funds for a citywide traffic-easing rapid transit system known as Project Connect, to address traffic congestion, expand service for essential workers, reduce climate change emissions, decrease traffic fatalities, create jobs, and provide access to schools, health care, jobs and the airport; to include neighborhood supportive affordable housing investments along transit corridors and a fixed rail and bus rapid transit system, including associated road, sidewalk, bike, and street lighting improvements, park and ride hubs, on-demand neighborhood circulator shuttles, and improved access for seniors and persons with disabilities; to be operated by the Capital Metropolitan Transportation Authority, expending its funds to build, operate and maintain the fixed rail and bus rapid transit system; the additional revenue raised by the tax rate is to be dedicated by the City to an independent board to oversee and finance the acquisition, construction, equipping, and operations and maintenance of the rapid transit system by providing funds for loans and grants to develop or expand transportation within the City, and to finance the transit-supportive anti-displacement strategies related to Project Connect. Last year, the ad valorem tax rate in the City of Austin was \$0.4431 per \$100 valuation."

Proposition B:

\$460M in voter-approved general obligation bonds for transportation infrastructure including sidewalks, transportation-related bikeways, urban trails, transportation safety projects (Vision Zero), safe routes to school and substandard streets.

If approved, Proposition B would provide \$460 million in property tax-supported general obligation bonds for transportation improvements for the projects and programs.



Who is on the ballot in Travis County?

The following are the contested races appearing on the ballot:

FEDERAL

President/Vice-President

Donald J. Trump/ Michael R. Pence (R) Joseph R. Biden/ Kamala D. Harris (D) Jo Jorgensen/ Jeremy "Spike" Cohen (L) Howie Hawkins/ Angela Walker (G)

U.S. Senator

John Cornyn (R) Mary "Mj" Hegar (D) Kerry Douglas McKennon (L) David B. Collins (G)

U.S. Representative District 10

Michael McCaul (R) Mike Siegel (D) Roy Eriksen (L)

U.S. Representative District 17

Pete Sessions (R) Rick Kennedy (D) Ted Brown (L)

U.S. Representative District 21

Chip Roy (R) Wendy R. Davis (D) Arthur DiBianca (L) Tommy Wakely (G)

U.S. Representative District 25

Roger Williams (R) Julie Oliver (D) Bill Kelsey (L)

U.S. Representative District 35

Jenny Garcia Sharon (R) Lloyd Doggett (D) Mark Loewe (L) Jason Mata Sr (I)

STATE

Railroad Commissioner

James "Jim" Wright (R) Chrysta Castañeda (D) Matt Sterett (L) Katija "Kat" Gruene (G)

Chief Justice, Supreme Court

Nathan Hecht (R) Amy Clark Meachum (D) Mark Ash (L)

Chief Justice, Supreme Court Place 6, Unexpired Term

Jane Bland (R) Kathy Cheng (D)

Jeff Boyd (R)

Chief Justice, Supreme Court Place 7

Staci Williams (D) William Bryan Strange III (L)

Chief Justice, Supreme Court Place 8

Brett Busby (R) Gisela D. Triana (D) Tom Oxford

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 3

Bert Richardson (R) Elizabeth Davis Frizell (D)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 4

Kevin Patrick Yeary (R) Tina Clinton (D)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 9

David Newell (R) Brandon Birmingham (D)

State Board of Education, District 5

Lani Popp (R) Rebecca Bell-Metereau (D) Stephanie Berlin (L)

State Board of Education, District 10

Tom Maynard (R) Marsha Burnett-Webster (D) Trip Seibold (L)

Texas Senate District 21

Frank Pomeroy (R)
Judith Zaffirini* (D)

Texas Senate District 24

Dawn Buckingham* (R) Clayton Tucker (D)

Texas House District 46

Sheryl Cole DEM (D)

Texas House District 47

Justin Berry (R) Vikki Goodwin* (D) Michael Clark (L)

Texas House District 48

Bill Strieber (R) Donna Howard* (D)

Texas House District 49

Charles Allan Meyer (R) Gina Hinojosa* (D) Kenneth M. Moore (L)

Texas House District 50

Larry Delarose (R) Celia Israel* (D)

Texas House District 51

Robert Reynolds (R) Eddie Rodriguez (D)

District attorney District 53

Martin Harry (R) Jose Garza (D)

Chief Justice, 3rd Court of Appeals

Jeff Rose (R) Darlene Byrne (D)

District Judge, 53rd JD

Maria Cantú Hexsel (D)

District Judge, 98th JD Rhonda Hurley (D)

District Judge, 126th JDAurora Martinez Jones (D)

District Judge, 167th JD

Dayna Blazey (D)

District Judge, 200th JD

Jessica Mangrum (D)

District Judge, 345th JD Jan Soifer (D)

District Judge, 353rd JD

Madeleine Connor (D)

District Judge, 390th JD

Julie Kocurek (D)

District Judge, 427th JD

Tamara Needles (D)

District Judge, 450th JD

Brad Urrutia (D)

District Judge, 460th JD

Geoffrey Puryear (R) Selena Alvarenga (D)

COUNTY

County Judge

Michael Lovins (R) Andy Brown (D)

Sheriff

Raul Vargas (R) Sally Hernandez* (D)

Tax Assessor-Collector

Marilyn Jackson (R) Bruce Elfant* (D) Erica Lockwood (L)

County Commissioner, Precinct 1

Solomon Arcoven (R) Jeffrey Travillion* (D)

County Commissioner, Precinct 3

Becky Bray (R) Ann Howard (D)

County Court at Law No. 9

Kim Williams* (D) Christopher David (L)

District Judge, District 460

Geoffrey Puryear* (R) Selena Alvarenga (D)

*denotes incumbent

Where can I vote?

County voters can vote at any polling center on election day as opposed to having to visit a specific precinct.