## Democratic Caucus for the Town of Canaan Center on Main, Falls Village July 18th 2023, 7:00PM

- 1. Call to order by temporary (DTC) Chair 7:03 PM
- 2. Pat Mechare nominates Vance Cannon as temporary chair, Noelle Lamuniere seconds the nomination, and it was unanimously approved.
- 3. Dave Barger nominated Dan Carr as the temporary secretary, and Donna Heinz seconded the motion, and it was unanimously approved.
- 4. The temporary secretary read the caucus notice.
- 5. Nominations

## A. First Selectman:

- Dave Barger is nominated by Pat Mechare, and the nomination is seconded by Barbara Reily. Pat Mechare spoke about Dave Barger's qualifications for the role.
- Denise Cohn nominates Greg Marlow, and it is seconded by Dale McDonald. Denise Cohn spoke about Greg Marlow's qualifications for the role.
- iii. Daly Reville nominated Thom Wilson, Colter Rule seconded the nomination and spoke on Thom Wilson's qualifications for the role.
- iv. Dick Heinz moved to close the nominations for first selectman, and Pat Mechare seconded the motion, unanimously approved.
- v. Noelle Lamuniere moved to have paper ballots for first selectmen and selectman voting, Janet Hanna seconded unanimously passed
- vi. Voting results: Thom Wilson received 14 votes, Greg Marlow received 9 votes, and Dave Barger received 16 votes. Dave Barger was endorsed by the caucus

## B. Selectman:

- i. Chris Kinsella is nominated by Jodie Bronson, Pat Mechare seconded.
- ii. Thom Wilson is nominated by Daly Reville, and Colter Rule seconds the nomination.
- iii. Dave Barger moved to close the nominations for Selectman, Pat Mechare seconded it, and it unanimously passed
- iv. Voting Results Thom Wilson received 14 votes, Chris Kinsella, receives 26 votes, and 1 abstention. Chris Kinsella was endorsed by the caucus

## C. Board of Finance 2 6-year terms

- i. Daly Reville nominates Thom Wilson, seconded by Colter Rule.
- ii. Dan Silverman nominates Corina Flemming, seconded by Chris Kinsella
- iii. Amy Wynn nominates David Wilburn, seconded by Dave Barger
- iv. Dave Barger moves to close nominations, seconded by Dick Heinz, All in favor.
- v. Dick Heinz moves to paper ballot, Dave Barger seconds, all in favor
- vi. Voting Results: Corina Flemming received 28 votes, Dave Wilburn received 16 votes, and Thom Wilson received 27 votes, Corina Flemming

and Thom Wilson are endorsed by the caucus.

- D. 4-year vacancies to fill on board of finance
  - Dick Heinz nominates Dave Wilburn, Dave Barger seconds. Dan Silverman spoke on behalf of Dave Wilburn
  - ii. Colter Rule nominates Daly Reville, Dan Shaw seconds, Colter Rule spoke on Daly Reville's behalf.
  - iii. Denise Cohen nominates John Steines, Dale Mcdonald seconds
  - iv. Pat Mechare moves to close; Janet Hanna seconds to close, unanimously moved.
  - v. Colter Rule moves for a paper ballot, Pat Mechare seconds, 24 for, 8 opposed for vote by paper ballot
  - vi. Voting Results: Daly Reville 6 votes, John Steines 11 votes, Dave Wilburn 19 votes. Dave Wilburm is endorsed by the caucus.
- E. Two-year term (replacing Joel Jones) on board of finance
  - i. Chris Kinsella nominates John Steines, Denise Cohen seconds.
  - ii. Colter Rule nominates Daily Reville, Dan shaw seconds.
  - iii. Dick Heinz moves to close, Dave Barger seconds.
  - iv. Pat Mechare moves for a paper ballot, Colter Rule seconds, 15 for, 14 against
  - v. Voting results: John Steines is endorsed by the caucus
  - F. Board of finance alternates 2 full 4-year vacancies
    - i. Dan silverman nominates Denise Cohn, Dale McDonald 2nd
  - ii. Mary Palmer points out that a paid town employee cannot serve on the Board.
  - iii. Amy Wynn nominates Ginger Betti, Chris Kinsella 2nds
  - iv. Dave barger moved to close, Chris Kinsella 2nd
  - v. All vote yes with one abstention; Denise Cohn is endorsed by the caucus
  - G. One person to fill Dave Wilburn's position: 2-yr term for board of finance alternate
  - i. Colter Rule nominates Daly Reville, Laurie Wadsworth seconds
  - 1 opposed, 2 abstensions, all others vote in favor; Daly Reville is endorsed by the caucus
  - H. One nomination for Kellogg BOE
  - i. Laurie Wadsworth nominates Emily Wilson, Chris Klnsella seconds
  - ii. Chris Kinsella moves to close the nominations; Dave Barger seconds
  - iii. Unanimous approval; Emily Wilson is endorsed by the caucus
- I. Board of assessment appeals One position 4-year term
- i. Dick Heinz moves to close the nominations, Dave barger seconded
- li. All approved
- lii. No nominations from the caucus

- J. Board of Assessment Appeals 2-year term
  - Mary Palmer nominates herself for Board of Assessment Appeals 2-year vacancy, Amy Wynn seconds
- ii. Pat Mechare moves that the secretary cast a ballot
- lii. Secretary casts ballot; Mary Palmer endorsed by caucus
- K. Two positions on Zoning Board of Appeals 4-year term
- i. Pat Mechare nominates Barbara Riley, Dave Barger seconds
- ii. Denise Cohn nominates Dick Heinz, Dave Barger seconds
- iii. Janet Hanna moves the secretary cast one ballot, Pat Mechare second, all approve
- iv. Secretary casts ballot; Barbara Riley and Dick Heinz endorsed by caucus
- L. Zoning Board of Appeals alternate 4-year term
  - i. Chris Kinsella nominates Joel Bronson, Dave Barger seconds
  - ii. Janet Hanna moves the secretary cast the ballot
  - lii. Secretary casts ballot; Joel Bronson endorsed by caucus
- M. Region 1 Board of Education
  - i. Dave Barger nominates Pat Mechare, second by Barbara Riley
  - ii. Dave Barger moves secretary casts a ballot, second by Janet Hanna
  - iii. Secretary casts ballot; Pat Mechare endorsed by caucus
- N. Four Constables four-year terms
  - i. Thom Wislon nominates Colter Rule, second by Laurie Wadsworth
  - ii. Barbara Deinhardt nominates Dan Shaw, second by Dan Silverman
  - iii. Dick Heinz nominates Terry Blass, Dave Barger seconds
  - iv. Barbara Riley Nominates Janert Hanna, Pat Mechare seconds
  - v. Mary Palmer moves to close nominations, Laurie Wadsworth seconds
  - vi. Dave Barger moves to approve the nominees, Pat Mechare seconds, all Approve.
  - vii. Colter Rule, Dan Shaw, Terry Blass, and Janet Hanna endorsed by caucus
- O. Move to adjourn by Noelle Lamuniere; second by Laurie Wadsworth, all heartily concur

Respectfully Submitted by Dan Carr