Democratic Town Committee

March 18th, 2024 - FV Senior Center

In attendance: Doug Cohn, Isabelle Foster, Vance Cannon, Dave Barger, John Atchley, Barbara Deinhardt, Dan Silverman, Patricia Mechare, Liz Pierce, Thom Wilson, Jim Henkens, Jandi Hanna, Marc Rosen, Melissa Lopes, Laurie Wadsworth

Remote attendance: Dick Heinz, Lonnie Carter, Chirs Kinsella, Dale McDonald, George Elling, Noelle Lamuniere

Meeting Called to Order at 6:38pm – Vance Cannon

Nomination for Chairman.

Barbara Deinhardt, motion to elect Dan Silverman, seconded by Dick Heinz. Dick Heinz, motion to close nominations, seconded by Pat Mechare. Unanimous to close nomination. Vote for new chair: 21 for, 0 opposed, 1 abstention. Motion carries.

Nomination for Secretary.

Pat Mechare, motion to elect Thom Wilson, seconded by Jandi Hanna. Motion by Jandi Hanna to close nominations, seconded by Barbara Deinhardt. Unanimous to close nominations. Vote for new secretary: 21 for, 0 opposed, 1 abstention.

Nomination for Treasurer.

Motion by Pat Mechare to nominate Jim Henkens. Seconded by Vance Cannon. Motion by Jandi Hanna to close nominations, seconded by Dave Barger. Motion to close unanimous. Vote for new treasurer: 21 for, 0 opposed, 1 abstention.

Nomination for Vice-Chair.

Motion from Barbara Deinhardt to re-elect Doug Cohn, seconded by Jandi Hanna. Motion by Jandi Hanna to close nominations, seconded by Barbara Deinhardt. Motion to close unanimous. Vote for vice-chair: 22 for, 0 opposed, 1 abstention.

Call for Delegates.

May 11th State Convention – Motion by Dan Carr to nominate Laurie Wadsworth, seconded by Pat Mechare. Motion carries.

May 13th Congressional Convention – Motion by Vance Cannon to nominate Barbara Deinhardt, seconded by Pat Mechare. Motion by Vance Cannon to close nominations, seconded by Melissa Lopes. Both motions carry.

May 14th State Senate Convention – Motion by Barbare Deinhardt to nominate Noelle Lamuniere, seconded by Dave Barger. Motion to close nomination by Vance Cannon, seconded by Pat Mechare. Both motions carry.

May 15th Mult-town State Rep conventions – Motion by Pat Mechare to nominate Dave Barger, seconded by Melissa Lopes. Motion to close nomination by Barbara Deinhardt, seconded by Vance Cannon, Both motions carry.

Election of Registrar.

Current registrar (Denise Cohn) term ends after primary, Registrar then selects Deputy Registrar and Assistant Registrar.

Pat Mechare nominates Tracey Wilson, seconded by Dick Heinz.

Doug Cohn nominates Pat Fife, seconded by Marc Rosen.

Motion by Dave Barger to close nominations, seconded by Laurie Wadsworth. Motion carries.

Discussion of main motion continues with reading of letters: Doug Cohn to read letter from Mary Palmer, opposed by some members. New chair Dan Silverman requests a vote to read letter, 14 for, 2 opposed. Letter is read.

Doug Cohn reads a letter from Pat Fife.

Both Dick Heinz and Pat Mechare provide verbal support for Tracey Wilson.

Pat Fife wins nomination 8-6, with 4 abstentions. (Four DTC members are not present to vote by this time)

Justice of the Peace.

Barbara Deinhardt moves to nominate Johanna Mann, seconded by Laurie Wadsworth. Call for secretary to cast one vote. Secretary votes yea, motion carries.

Fund Raising.

Dan Silverman to start fund raising conversations.

Barbara Deinhardt moves to adjourn, seconded by Vance Cannon. Motion carries unanimously.

Submitted by Thom Wilson, Secretary