

The Society of Norfolk Golf Captains 2024 TURKEY TROT AND AGM REPORT

Middleton Hall Golf Club, Friday 6TH December 2024

The weather stayed dry, if a little chilly for the 2024 Turkey Trot. The Middleton Hall course was well prepared for our visit, although the considerable rain that had fallen a day or so before did make it a proper winter challenge. The day began early with very much appreciated bacon rolls followed by a formal welcome to MHGC from the Club Captain Lee Hasbury. The wonderful halfway house was provided courtesy of Bill Boniface.

Results:

1st Lee Hasbury 38 points 2nd Trevor Greef 33 points 3rd Bill Boniface 30 points (ocb)

The front nine prize was won by Jack Norton and Tony Thacker took the back nine prize. Nearest the pin winners were Richard Brown, Malcolm Hardingham, Terry Hewitt, Gordon Cartwright and Ian Alderton.

The Two Mikes Trophy winner for 2024 was announced,ocb Paul Grisbrook
103 points from Trevor Greef



Lee Hasbury



Trevor Greef



Bill Boniface

Paul Grisbrook receiving the 2024 Two Mikes trophy





Turkey Trot Prize winners



















AGM 2024 update

At the 2024 AGM held at Middleton Hall GC on 6th December 2024, a resolution was passed to increase the annual subscription and joining fee from 1st January 2025 to £33.00 from £30.00.

The relevant rule in our constitution now reads:

6. ENTRY FEES AND ANNUAL SUBCRIPTIONS

The entry fee and annual subscription are to be fixed at the Annual General Meeting. The current entrance fees £33 and the Annual Subscription is £33. Subscriptions must be paid in advance by 31st December. Members aged over 80 become Honorary Life members, subject to there being no outstanding dues.

The officers of the Society for 2025 were confirmed as:

President: Mr. Kevin Woolley (Heacham Manor GC)

Captain: Mr. Jack Norton (Wensum Valley GC)

Vice-President: Mr. Terry Hewitt (Eaton GC)

Vice-Captain: Mr. Nigel Elmar (Royal Norwich GC)

Hon. Secretary: Mr. Paul Filby will continue in office

Hon. Treasurer: Mr. Jack Norton will continue in office

Merchandising: Mr. Pat Holman

Kevin Woolley (left) 2025 President



Jack Norton (right) 2025 Captain

