

North Carolina Pupil Transportation Association

Binford Sloan Nash-Rocky Mount President 252-462-2480

Jerry Wynne Beaufort County Vice President 252-946-6209 Charles McDowell Moore County Secretary 910-947-5481 Cynthia Phillips Cumberland County Treasurer 910-678-2590 Cindy Carlisle Cleveland County Past President 704-482-3438

Advisory Council

District 1 Harold Laflin Buncombe County

Larry Franks Macon County

District 2 Bill Barr Mecklenburg County

Shontia Davis Mecklenburg County

District 3 Frankie Floyd Ashe County

Terry Campbell Iredell County

District 4 Brad Lankford Stokes County

Leslie Cox Randolph County

District 5 Rachel Hussey Moore County

Leonard Campbell Cabarrus County

District 6 Jeff Moore Wake County

Laura Flye Nash-Rocky Mount

District 7 Dianne Grumelot Cumberland County

Chris Jones Robeson County

District 8 Lizima Dickens Bertie County

David Twiddy Dare County

District 9 Joey Weathington Pitt County

John Barbour Carteret County North Carolina Pupil Transportation Association Advisory Council Meeting ITRE Training Room, Raleigh, NC July 10, 2008 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM

Binford Sloan opened the meeting, welcomed everyone, and gave the invocation.

Members in attendance
State Officers: Binford Sloan, Charles McDowell, Cynthia Phillips
District 1:
District 2: Bill Barr, Shontia Davis
District 3: Frankie Floyd, Terry Campbell
District 4: Brad Lankford, Leslie Cox
District 5: Rachel Hussey, Leonard Campbell
District 6: Laura Flye
District 7: Chris Jones
District 8: Lizima Dickens, David Twiddy
District 9: Joey Weathington
Legislative Committee: Scott Denton
Conference Committee: Bobby Taylor, Dennis Wood
District 5 President: George Douglas

Advisory Council Members Joey Weathington and Laura Flye were administered the Oath of Office by President Binford Sloan.

<u>Board Minutes</u> Jerry Wynne was not present; Board Minutes will be given at Fall Meeting

Treasurer's Report

Cynthia Phillips gave the Treasurer's Report. A copy of the report is attached to these minutes. David Twiddy made the motion to accept and Chris Jones seconded. Motion passed.

The Advisory Council agreed, to change the wording from Board of Directors to Advisory Council since that is how it is worded in the by-laws. Each District Director and Officer were given an Advisory Council Handbook. The handbook contains, items on meeting guidelines, NCPTA Constitution and By-Laws, Advisory Council Minutes (going back to September 2006), TAC Committee Minutes, Treasurer Report, Sea Trail Letter of Agreement (2009 Conference), NAPT State Assoc. Membership Program. Each council member has been asked to bring these books to each meeting, so information can be updated.

Legislative Report

Scott Denton reported that HB 2265 (School Bus Exemption from Duplicate Inspection) passed the house and the senate. The bill has gone back to house and hopefully it will go before the Governor next week.

The recapped tire legislation requires that the original markings be present. As the bill is currently written, it may exclude the bead to bead process from the bid.

Scott also reported that it has been reported that pay raises for classified employees would be 2.75% or \$1100.00 whichever is greater. Health insurance would remain the same this year with an increase next year.

Derrick Graham asked the NCPTA to take a position on Ultra-low sulfur diesel pricing. Currently, when LEA's order fuel, they do not know the cost of the fuel until it is delivered and some times not until the actual invoice is received. A resolution was created whereby NCPTA supports DPI in its efforts to have the new fuel diesel contract re-negotiated. Binford Sloan and Scott Denton will attend the Purchase & Contracting meeting on July 18, 2008. David Twiddy made a motion to accept the resolution. Joey Weathington seconded. Motion passed.

DPI requested \$45,000,000 additional monies for fuel from the legislature. \$35,000,000 was allocated.

TAC Report

Leonard Campbell gave report. A copy is attached to these minutes.

Recognition Committee

Nominations for the Trailblazer Award should be submitted at the fall meeting (September 28, 2008) for recommendation in December or early January.

The North Carolina Transportation Hall of fame will induct Norfleet Gardner in the Museum on October 7, 2008 in Spencer, NC at 9:00 am.

Binford Sloan will contact vendors and the widow of Greg Bridgeman to see if there is still interest in them continuing to provide funds for the CC Brown/Hydrotex and Greg Bridgeman Scholarships, since no one has received those scholarships in the past couple of years. Dennis Wood will provide Binford with phone numbers and/or email addresses so he can contact them. After Binford contact them the Recognition Committee will come up with the criteria to receive the scholarships and make recommendations to the NCPTA Advisory Council.

2008-09 Committee Assignments Legislative Scott Denton & Jerry Wynne

> TAC Leonard Campbell & David Twiddy

Cindy Carlisle, Jody Pressley, Chris Jones, Joey Weathington & Leslie Cox

Nominations

Jerry Wynne, Charles McDowell, Jeff Moore & Terry Campbell

Conference

Harold Laflin, Shontia Davis, Frankie Floyd, Brad Lankford, Rachel Hussey, Laura Flye, Diane Grumelot, Lizima Dickens, John Barber, Scott Denton, Dennis Wood, & Bobby Taylor

This committee will be working on planning the 2009 Conference, along with the Conference Coordinator and NAPT.

Brad Lankford made a motion to accept Committee Assignments. Lizima Dickens seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Training for Members

A Training Committee was established within the NCPTA with a purpose to sponsor training for technicians and office personnel. Training will focus on hands on approaches to everyday work processes. It was also discussed that training should be throughout the year at regional location sites in addition to the summer conference. Each LEA will be responsible for the costs for its employees and all monies will be paid thru the NCPTA. Every employee will receive a certificate after completion of each course. The following members will form the Training Committee: Binford Sloan-chairman, Bobby Taylor, George Douglas, Dennis Wood, Brad Lankford, and Randy Henson.

David Twiddy made a motion to accept the recommendation as presented for the Training Committee, its members and as long as it doesn't cost the NCPTA any monies and all monies are paid thru the NCPTA. Joey Weathington seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Other Business

Binford Sloan presented information on the 2009 Summer Conference to be held at Sea Trails at Sunset Beach, NC. He also presented information on the Conference Coordinator's vacancy and other options. After several discussions, David Twiddy made a motion that we join the NAPT as a state association member, hire a conference coordinator (as a go to person for the state annual conference), the president would write a new job description and contract for the Conference Coordinator's position and re-advertise the position.

Binford Sloan presented three NCPTA Letter head drafts. The Advisory Council accepted Draft #1.

Binford Sloan presented information in reference to the Golf Tournament at 2008 Summer Conference. There were funds paid by two vendors to sponsor the tournament. The funds were not paid to NCPTA but held by a third vendor. One vendor wanted a refund. No action was taken, so Binford Sloan could contact vendors to find out more information.

It was agreed by the Advisory Council that in the future any funds paid by vendors for any event, for the Summer Conference, all funds would go thru NCPTA.

The next Advisory Council Meeting will be held at Sea Trail Resort in Sunset Beach, NC on September 28-29, 2008.

Meeting adjourned by president.