
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Valentine’s Day first became associated with romantic love in England in the 14th century when the tradition of courtly 
love flourished.   Over the years, this day has evolved into a significant cultural, religious, and commercial celebration of 
romance in many regions around the world, although it is not a public holiday in any country.  In terms of greeting card 
sales, Valentine’s Day ranks second to Christmas; in terms of candy sales, it comes in third behind Easter and Halloween.  
To help you maintain that “lovin’ feeling,” here is a no-calorie Rules quiz for you to share with your sweetheart! 

1.   Your hole-tracking tee shot on a par-3 collides with a Valentine’s Day balloon drifting over the 
course, and your ball ends up out of bounds.  The correct ruling is: (a) You may cancel and 
replay the stroke without penalty.  (b) You may drop a ball below the point where you estimate 
that your ball struck the balloon with no penalty. (c) You may place a ball below the point where 
you estimate that your ball struck the balloon with no penalty.  (d) You must return to the teeing 
ground under penalty of stroke and distance. 

  
2.   You ball ends up on top of a Valentine’s Day cupcake left in the rough by some children.  The 

correct ruling is: (a) Since the cupcake is adhering to your ball, there is no relief without penalty 
and you must play the ball as it lies.  (b) Without penalty, you may take relief by placing the ball 
as near as possible to the spot directly under the place where your ball came to rest on the 
cupcake.  (c) Without penalty, you may take relief by dropping your ball as near as possible to 
the spot directly under the place where your ball came to rest on the cupcake.  (d) You must 
eat the cupcake before taking relief from this precarious lie!  

 
3. You ball trickles into a bunker, but is stopped on the downslope by some Valentine’s Day candy left in the bunker by 

some children.  The correct ruling is: (a) You must play the ball as it lies.  (b) You may remove the candy provided you 
can do so without causing your ball to move.  (c) You may remove the candy, and if your ball 
moves, you must replace the ball.  If necessary, you may press the ball into the sand to keep it 
from rolling down the slope and closer to the hole.  (d) You may remove the candy, and if your 
ball moves, you must replace the ball no nearer the hole and without pressing the ball into the 
sand.  If that is not possible, you may place the ball in the bunker at the nearest spot not nearer 
the hole where it can be placed at rest.  If that is not possible, then you may proceed under the 
stroke-and-distance option of Rule 28 [Ball Unplayable] or drop the ball, under penalty of one 
stroke, outside the bunker, keeping the point where the ball lay directly between the hole and 
the spot on which the ball is dropped. 

 
Answers:  
  
1. (d) According to the Definition of “Outside Agency,” wind is not an outside agency.  However, Decision 18-1/6 [Ball at 

Rest Moved by Blowing Tumbleweed] clarifies that something being blown across the course by wind is an 
outside agency.  Therefore, the balloon is an outside agency, and Rule 19-1 [Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped 
by Outside Agency] applies.  In part, this Rule states, “If a player’s ball in motion is accidentally deflected or 
stopped by any outside agency, it is a rub of the green, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies 
….”  In this case, since your ball came to rest out of bounds, Rule 27-1b [Ball Out of Bounds] also applies so you 
must play a ball, under penalty of one stroke, as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was 
last played. 

  
2. (c) The Definition of “Obstruction” states, in part, “An “obstruction” is anything artificial … [and] is a movable 

obstruction if it may be moved without unreasonable effort, without unduly delaying play and without causing 
damage.”  Given that the cupcake is a movable obstruction, Rule 24-1b [Movable Obstruction] applies since your 
ball came to rest on top of the cupcake.  This Rule advises, “If the ball lies in or on the obstruction, the ball may 
be lifted and the obstruction removed.  The ball must through the green or in a hazard be dropped … as near as 
possible to the spot directly under the place where the ball lay in or on the obstruction, but not nearer the hole.”  

 
3. (d) See Rule 20-3d [Placing and Replacing: Ball Fails to Come to Rest on Spot] and Decision 20-3d/2 [Ball in Bunker 

Moves Closer to Hole When Obstruction Removed and Ball Will Not Remain at Rest When Replaced; All Other 
Parts of Bunker Are Nearer the Hole]. 


