
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
In this quiz, see if you can identify the “odd one out” in each of the following groups of four penalty-
related situations: 
 

1. (a) Instead of dropping your ball when taking relief from a sprinkler head in the fairway, you 
place the ball before making your next stroke.  (b) You proceed correctly in taking relief from a 
water hazard.  (c) You play a wrong ball.  (d) On the putting green, you mistakenly substitute 
and play another ball. 

 

2. (a) While addressing your ball in a water hazard, your club touches the water in the hazard.  (b) While addressing your 
ball in a bunker, your club touches a leaf in the bunker.  (c) You play a stroke with a non-conforming club. (d) During 
your stipulated round, you comment to a fellow-competitor that his putting tempo is too slow. 

 

3. (a) You use your driver after applying Vaseline to the face of the club in order to reduce the spin rate of the ball and 
thereby increase distance.  (b) While walking down the first fairway, you and the other two fellow-competitors in your 
group agree to repair spike marks on the putting greens during your stipulated round, knowing that repairing spike 
marks is against the Rules.  (c) You deem your ball unplayable in a bunker and, instead of dropping a ball within the 
bunker or going back 200 yards to where you last played, you drop a ball just outside of the bunker.  (d) At the end of 
your round, you discover that you have been carrying 16 clubs in your bag! 

 

4. (a) In the process of determining that your ball is not unfit for play, you neglect to mark your ball before lifting it, you fail 
to give any of your fellow-competitors the opportunity to inspect the ball, and you clean the ball.  (b) You find that your 
ball has come to rest out of bounds.  (c) You cause your ball in the rough to move by making a practice swing, but you 
then replace your ball.  (d) With no Local Rule in place regarding preferred lies, you nevertheless lift your ball to clean 
off some mud before replacing your ball in the fairway. 

 
Answers:  
 
1. (b) Per Decision 20-6/1 [Ball Placed When Required to Be Dropped or Dropped When Required to Be Placed; 

Correction of Error], you incur the general penalty, i.e., loss of hole in match play and two strokes in stroke play, if 
you fail to correct the error of placing your ball when you should have dropped it when proceeding under Rule 24-2 
[Immovable Obstruction].  Likewise, you incur the general penalty if you play a wrong ball per Rule 15-3 [Wrong 
Ball] or play an incorrectly substituted ball per Rule 15-2 [Substituted Ball].  The penalty associated with taking 
relief from a water hazard is simply one stroke per Rule 26-1 [Relief for Ball in Water Hazard]. 

 

2. (c) Per Rule 13-4 [Ball in Hazard; Prohibited Actions], the penalty for touching water in a water hazard with your club, 
as well touching a loose impediment in the hazard when your ball is lying in the hazard, is the general penalty.  
Per Rule 8-1 [Advice], you incur the general penalty if you give advice to anyone in the competition playing on the 
course other than your partner.  However, per Rule 4-1 [Form and Make of Clubs], should you play a stroke with a 
non-conforming club, you are disqualified. 

 

3. (d) Per Rule 4-2b [Foreign Material], you are disqualified if you apply foreign material to the face of your club for the 
purpose of influencing the movement of the ball.  Likewise, per Rule 1-3 [Agreement to Waive Rules], if players 
knowingly agree to exclude the operation of any Rule, they will be disqualified. According to Rule 16-1c [The 
Putting Green: Repair of Hole Plugs, Ball Marks and Other Damage] and Decision 16-1c/4 [Repair of Spike Mark 
Damage Around Hole], repairing spike marks which might assist the player in his subsequent play of the hole is 
prohibited.  Per Decision 28/10 [Ball Dropped Outside Bunker Under Option Requiring Drop in Bunker], the player 
is disqualified for a serious breach of Rule 28 [Ball Unplayable].  The penalty for carrying in excess of 14 clubs is 
an adjustment to the state of the match in match play (maximum deduction of two holes per round), or two strokes 
in stroke play for each hole at which any breach occurred (maximum penalty per round of four strokes). 

  

4. (b) Although each of these penalty situations involves a one-stroke penalty, the” odd one out” is the ball that is out of 
bounds for which Rule 27-1 [Stroke and Distance; Ball Out of Bounds; Ball Not Found Within Five Minutes] 
prescribes the penalty of stroke and distance.  Rule 5-3 [Ball Unfit for Play] sets forth the required procedure to be 
followed when you have reason to believe that your ball is unfit for play.  Note that Rule 5-3 states, in part, “If the 
player fails to comply with all or any part of this procedure … he incurs a penalty of one stroke.”  When you 
accidentally move your ball in play with a practice stroke, you incur a one-stroke penalty per Rule 18-2 [Ball at 
Rest Moved by Player …] and you are required to replace your ball.  According to Rule 21 [Cleaning Ball], if you 
clean your ball during play of a hole when you are not permitted to do so under the Rules, you incur a penalty of 
one stroke and you are required to replace the ball. 


