Bridge at the Lunatic Fringe --  Number   9 – 

Declarer’s Signals
In this article, I’ll address the subject of declarer’s signaling; the play of cards by declarer so as to create maximum confusion for the defenders.  I’m not talking about false cards of honors, but the play of spot cards.  This is an area that most players pay little attention to, and in truth it seldom makes a difference.  But occasionally it does matter, and the general rule is that declarer should follow the defenders’ signaling methods when he has a choice of spot cards to play.  
If the defenders are playing standard signals, and declarer wants a suit led by them to be continued, he should play a high spot card, encouraging attitude.  If he doesn’t want the suit continued, a low card.
Conversely, if defenders’ signaling is up-side-down, declarer should also play up-side-down in his choice of spot cards.  

Here’s a hand to illustrate the principle, featuring the professor as declarer, creating a very difficult dilemma for his nemesis, Cecil Horne.



Warren (North)


S  K 6 4 3


H  K 8 5 2


D  K 4 2


C  9 2
Cecil Horne (West)


Mariska (East)

S  Q 5




S  J 10 9 8 2
H  A 10 9



H  7 6
D  Q 9 6 3



D  10 8 5 
C  K Q 10 8



C  6 5 4 
Prof. Lobochevski (South)

S  A 7


H  Q J 4 3


D  A J 7


C  A J 7 3
The bidding was straightforward.  The professor opened 1NT, and the Stayman convention revealed the heart fit.  Warren’s game invitation was happily accepted by the professor who had a maximum 17 points for his NT opening.
Cecil led the King of clubs, and his partner for the evening was Mariska, a cousin of Minna visiting from Hvar, a scenic resort island on Croatia’s Adriatic coast.  She followed with the 4, her lowest card.  Cecil and his new partner had just barely time to discuss carding before the start of the game, and they had agreed to standard carding, contrary to Cecil’s usual preference for up-side-down signals which he used with his regular partners.
This was the first round of the evening, and the professor had been at the table as Cecil and partner filled out their convention card.  So the professor was aware of their carding methods;  fortunately so—if the professor had needed to inquire or look at their convention card after the lead was made, the ever-leery Cecil would have suspected some chicanery.
With this knowledge, the professor followed smoothly with the seven-- a high card “signal” by declarer, hoping to encourage a continuation into his remaining AJ tenace.  The hold-up of the Ace in this situation is of course a standard play.  
Similarly, if the defenders had been playing up-side-down signals, the East hand would try to discourage by playing the six, and declarer should encourage by playing the two.  If declarer mistakenly plays the seven, it will be absolutely clear to West that the six is discouraging, while playing the two creates possible ambiguity.

As it was, Cecil studied this trick for some time before playing to the next trick.  

Partner’s four seemed to be a discouraging low card, the more so with the deuce appearing in dummy.  Still, the three was missing, so it was possible that partner was trying to encourage with a holding like J 4 3.
Furthermore, Cecil knew that partner could not have much…  a Jack or Queen at most, accounting for declarer’s known 16 or 17 points, 9 in dummy, and his own 13.  No continuation looked attractive, and any continuation could cost a trick, depending on where partner’s meager resources were located.  The right decision was by no means obvious, and in the end, Cecil persevered with clubs.
Whether this was the right choice is certainly debatable, but the point is that if the professor had routinely played the three, there would have been no doubt that the four was discouraging, and Cecil would have switched, likely to a trump.
The remaining play proved rather interesting, with expert tactics and counter-tactics.  The professor won the club continuation in hand with the Jack, and cashed the Ace of clubs for a diamond pitch from dummy.  Then the King and Ace of diamonds, and a diamond ruff in dummy, both defenders following.  
The professor then returned to hand with the Spade Ace, and led the 4th round of clubs. He judged well by ruffing with the eight, and was prepared to lose to an overruff.  Based on Cecil’s earlier play, the professor was convinced that Cecil held the Ace of Hearts, in which case roughing the club high would surely set up a second trump trick for the defense.  Luckily for the professor, Mariska had no trump card higher than the eight, and she discarded the Jack of Spades.  Now an overtrick seemed likely. 
Winning in dummy with the eight of hearts, the professor led the King of Hearts, beginning finally to take out trumps.  At this point, Cecil saw a chance to make an extra trump trick by ducking the King, and winning the presumed heart continuation.  Then he could put declarer back in dummy with the King of Spades, and with nothing but Spades left in dummy, Cecil would surely make a trick with his remaining ten of trumps, perhaps salvaging something on the board after his unfortunate club play at trick 2.
After the Heart King held, the professor realized just in the nick of time what Cecil was up to, and found the antidote…  cashing  the King of spades before continuing Hearts.  Now he could not be locked in dummy, and after losing the Ace of Hearts, was able to claim the remainder.  In all, he lost only a club and a trump trick;  making an all-important overtrick, and a tie for top on the board.

Cecil was humiliated even further when Mariska pointed out in the post-mortem that he could have promoted an extra trump trick by winning the Ace of Hearts immediately and continuing with the 4th round of diamonds.  Mariska could ruff with the 7, and that would promote a 2nd trump trick for the defense.  
And so the hand further enhanced Cecil’s reputation for making the “expert” play at the wrong time.
