

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 1528 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Way · Dayton, Ohio 45402 (937) 222-2172 · FAX (937) 222-8984 · www.naacpdayton.org

"Where There Is Unity, There Is Strength"

OFFICERS

Derrick L. Foward, M.C.E. President Rev. Herman E. Branham 1st Vice President Tom. M. Roberts 2nd Vice President

Willie A. Terrell, Jr. 3rd Vice President

Clair Mae Thompson

Secretary Lauretta Williams

Assistant Secretary
Cedric L. McGhee
Treasurer

Jamie L. Rippey Assistant Treasurer Jessie O. Gooding President, Emeritus

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Te'Nayia A. Bailey President, Dayton Youth Council Elona Beans Communications, Press & Publicity Stacey D. Benson-Taylor Rev. Herman E. Branham Religious Affairs Lu Dale, MA, Freedom Fund Eric L. Ellington, Sr. Sergeant-at-Arms Jean A. Foward Littlejohn Junior Youth Council Rev. Dr. David I. Fox Criminal Justice Arnetta G. Garv Felicia A. Hill, R.N. Quintin Jordan, Jr. Move Foward Thurgood Marshal Atty. Gary J. Leppla LTC (R) Claudia L. Mason Move Foward Thurgood Marshall Cedric L. McGhee ACT-SO

Marvene A. Mitchell
Community Coordination
David L. Montgomery
Dr. Carl E. Moyler
Rev. Ayokunle O. Ogunduyile
International Affairs
Cathy L. Parson
Labor & Industry
Carolyn Y. Perkins
Dayton Youth Council
Tom M. Roberts
Political Action
Demetrious H. Rush

Demetrious H. Rush
GOTV
Derrick Scales, Sr.
Christopher L. Shaw
Scott Sliver
Social Media Connection
Deborah A. Smith
Housing
Rosa E.R. Smith, R.N.
WIN
William Thomas Spear
Willie A. Terrell, Jr.
Scholarship
Destinee Ra' Walker
President, LJYC

Membership and Life Member Lauretta Williams Education Roland Winburn Economic Development

Dr. Anthony B. Whitmore Dinah M. Williams Daniel D. Dage Dh.D.

May 9, 2017

Daniel B. Ross, Ph.D. Commissioner Ohio High School Athletic Association 4080 Roselea Place Columbus, Ohio 43214

Dear Dr. Ross,

I appreciate you and your compliance staff for meeting with me and Lauretta Williams, Chair of the Dayton Unit NAACP Education Committee. As you and your staff probably noticed, we have a burning passion to secure equality and justice for the athletes and students in the Dayton Public School District.

To be clear, the intent of our request is to shift the burden to all coaches and athletic directors who are directly responsible for the infractions and not sanction all athletic programs in the entire school district for which one school (Dunbar) was responsible. As stated during our meeting, we have no problem with penalty numbers 3, 4, 5 or 6 as outlined in the DPS Ruling Letter dated April 6, 2017. Our concern is with the language in penalties 1 and 2. You might consider for example:

- The athletic director and football coaches of Dunbar High School, along with the district athletic director, within the Dayton Public School District are placed on probation for three years through the 2019-2020 school year.
- 2. The probation means that any further activity of this nature or any other violation of Bylaw 3 will place these individual coaches and ADs of this District in jeopardy. Should there be no violations of Bylaw 3 during the first two years of the probationary period, the District may petition the Commissioner's Office to waive the final year of probation.

As you and Associate Commissioner Deborah B. Moore stated during the meeting, as commissioners, you can prohibit coaches and ADs from participating in playoff competitions.

If you need additional information, please contact me directly at (937) 307-8351 or dlfoward@sbcglobal.net. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Have a Blessed Year of 2017!!!

Your community servant,

Derrick L. Foward, M.C.E.

President

Dayton Unit NAACP

CC: Lauretta Williams, Education Chair, Dayton Unit NAACP
Dayton Unit NAACP Executive Committee Members