

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 1528 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Way · Dayton, Ohio 45402 (937) 222-2172 · FAX (937) 222-8984 · www.naacpdayton.org

OFFICERS

Dr. Derrick L. Foward President Rev. Herman E. Branham 1st Vice President

Tom. M. Roberts 2nd Vice President Willie A. Terrell, Jr. 3rd Vice President

Clair Mae Thompson

Secretary

Lauretta Williams Assistant Secretary

Cedric L. McGhee Treasurer

Harvey C. Bolden Assistant Treasurer Jessie O. Gooding President, Emeritus

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Te'Navia A. Bailev President, Dayton Youth Council Stacey D. Benson-Taylor Rev. Herman E. Branham Religious Affairs Rev. Rodney Cranford Labor & Industry Lu Dale, MA. Freedom Fund
Eric L. Ellington, Sr.
Sergeant-at-Arms Jean A. Foward Littleiohn Junior Youth Council Rev. Dr. David I. Fox Ina M. Green Membership and Life Member La'Donna R. Hayes President, LJYC Felicia A. Hill, R.N. Health Nycia Lattimore
Wright State University College Chapter
Atty. Gary J. Leppla Legal Redress Cedric L. McGhee ACT-SO ACI-SO
Asia N. Miller
Wright State University College Chapter
Marvene A. Mitchell
Community Coordination
David L. Montgomery
Dr. Carl E. Moyler Ayokunle O. Ogunduyile International Affairs Carolyn Y. Perkin Dayton Youth Council Tom M. Roberts Political Action Porrick Scales, Sr. Christopher L. Shaw Nathan M. Shields Move Foward Thurgood Marshall Scott Sliver Communications, Press & Publicity Deborah A. Smith Housing William Thomas Spear Willie A. Terrell, Jr. Scholarship Endia Thomas Endia Thomas
Move Foward Thurgood Marshall
Eric (Willie) Walker-Mabry
Young Adult
Dr. Anthony B. Whitmore
Lauretta Williams Terrence Williams, SMSgt USAF (Ret) Armed Services and Veterans Affairs Roland Winburn Economic Development

"Where There Is Unity, There Is Strength"

February 10, 2019

Laura Kohler President State Board of Education of Ohio 25 South Front St. Columbus, Ohio 43215-4183

Dear President Kohler,

This letter is to make you aware of an action against the Jefferson Township Local School District (JTLSD) by a group of Caucasian landowners that will most certainly exacerbate racial segregation in the Dayton region. This action has been mentioned by the local press, but it does not appear to be getting the attention it deserves, perhaps because of the size of the district.

On March 12, 2018, six people submitted petitions to transfer nearly nine square miles of JTLSD into Valley View Local Schools. The impact on JTLSD will be a loss of more than \$450k in annual tax revenue that will be directed away from educating very deserving children.

Historically, the State Board of Education gives a significant amount of local control to communities when it comes to school district composition. In this case, however, it is not elected officials, nor community leaders of JTLSD but, a group of wealthy landowners attempting to exercise that local control in order to have their land transferred out of a poor, racially segregated school district.

During a hearing on this matter, the petitioners claimed they are seeking the transfer to Valley View to give their children a better education. However, they have presented evidence related to only two children within the disputed territory who would be going to Valley View. In fact, most of the landowners admitted that they have no school age children. The petitioners also admitted that part of their motivation was to break apart the district. Representatives of JTLSD have argued that Ohio policymakers have created viable options for students and parents through school choice which will eliminate this option of dismantling the entire district. The Dayton Unit NAACP strongly urges the State Board of Education of Ohio to consider the option of school choice over economic distress as you deliberate your decision. Additionally, according to Ohio Department of Education, Valley View Local Schools performed at 77.7%, earning a C grade, while Jefferson Township performed at 52.4%, earning a D grade, while demonstrating continuous improvement.

Furthermore, the petitioners did not dispute that the section of territory that they wish to separate from JTLSD is occupied primarily by Caucasian families. JTLSD representatives have argued that the transfer of this territory will exacerbate racial isolation and segregation of its district. Any decision that would further increase racial isolation is contrary to JTLSD's long-range educational goals and plans, which necessarily include exposing all students to diverse cultures and ideas. It has been recognized and accepted for more than 50 years, since *Brown v. Board of Education*, that racial isolation (segregation) is detrimental to the education of minority populations, including the effects that such isolation has on the motivation and mindset of those populations on academic achievement.

On February 12, 2019, the same day as the founding of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) 110 years ago, the State Board of Education will vote on whether to transfer this territory to Valley View, the neighboring district. In collaboration with and on behalf of JTLSD, I am requesting that you vote against the petitioners' request to transfer this section of land out of Jefferson Township Local School District to Valley View Local School District. A vote in favor of this transfer unquestionably would have a detrimental impact on the Jefferson Township, Ohio community. Thank you in advance for your time and consideration.

Your community servant,

Duruch 1. toward

Dr. Derrick L. Foward

President

Dayton Unit NAACP

CC: Charlotte McGuire, Vice President (District 3 Dayton) – State Board of Education of Ohio Linda Haycock, Member (District 1 Lima) – State Board of Education of Ohio Kirsten Hill, Member (District 2) – State Board of Education of Ohio Jenny Kilgore, Member (District 4) – State Board of Education of Ohio Lisa Woods, Member (District 5 Medina) – State Board of Education of Ohio Antoinette Miranda, Member (District 6 Columbus) - State Board of Education of Ohio Sarah Fowler, Member (District 7 Rock Creek) – State Board of Education of Ohio John Hagan, Member (District 8) - State Board of Education of Ohio Stephanie Dodd, Member (District 9 Hebron) – State Board of Education of Ohio Nick Owens, Member (District 10 Georgetown) – State Board of Education of Ohio Meryl Johnson, Member (District 11 Cleveland) – State Board of Education of Ohio David Brinegar, Member - State Board of Education of Ohio Cindy Collins, Member – State Board of Education of Ohio Eric Poklar, Member - State Board of Education of Ohio Martha Manchester, Member - State Board of Education of Ohio Mark Lamoncha, Member – State Board of Education of Ohio James Sheppard, Member – State Board of Education of Ohio Mike Toal, Member – State Board of Education of Ohio Dayton Unit NAACP Executive Committee Members Atty. Gary J. Leppla, Chair – Dayton Unit NAACP Legal Redress Committee Lauretta Williams, Chair - Dayton Unit NAACP Education Committee