Northeast Council Atlantic Conference Bylaws and Mission Statement

The Northeast Council Atlantic Conference is comprised of the Northeast states and territories as defined by the USPS Northeast Atlantic Area and wish to be included. The eligible states and territories are: Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, and Vermont, and Virginia. The Mission of the Council Conference is to promote and share important information between the states and territories on current events or issues that affect Northeast Atlantic Area Postmasters and Managers. Each state and territory is recognized individually and may endorse, sponsor or support any UPMA individual or State Chapter for purposes of running for a National Officer position, assisting with national site selection or assisting with any group efforts to resolve issues that affect Northeast Atlantic Area Postmasters and Managers.

Members:

Any of the Northeast Atlantic states and territories as defined by the USPS Northeast Atlantic Area who wish to be included in the Council Conference. The following states and territories are eligible to be members of the Northeast Council Atlantic Conference: Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, and Vermont, and Virginia.

Officers:

President and Secretary

Terms:

President – Two years One year Secretary - Two years One year

Term of each office begins on November January 1st of following the year elected.

Elections:

The following states and territories are eligible to be members of the Northeast Council Atlantic Conference: Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, and Vermont and Virginia.

Each Council Conference member state and territory must participate in elected positions in the alphabetical order listed above. The President and Secretary shall be from the same state or territory. The state or territory in the rotation shall recommend their members for President and Secretary, who will be voted on at the National Convention. If an eligible state or territory is not a member of the Northeast Council does not have a recommendation for officers in their turn in the rotation, the state or territory will be passed over to the next in line.

Elections will be made at the National Convention as follows:

President – Odd years Secretary – Even years

Duties of the President:

Contact state or territory Presidents prior to any meetings, plan any agenda items, execute the Council Conference meetings, and plan and host a fall conference.

Duties of the Secretary:

Secretary – Records and disperses or reads minutes at Council Conference meetings In the absence of the President, the Secretary takes over the President's duties.

Meetings:

Meetings will be held no less than 2 3 times a year: during Legislative, and during National Convention, and Fall Conference. A quorum for any meeting would be 6 or more states that are present electronically or in person. An agenda will be adopted for each meeting and those wishing to speak must be on the agenda. These bylaws may be amended by 2/3 vote of eligible voters, provided 14 days previous notice of proposed amendments are electronically published prior to the Fall meeting.

Meetings will be structured and meet the following criteria:

President Call to Order
Reading of minutes by Secretary
President's Report
Old Business
New Business
Speakers or Guests
Elections
Adjournment

Adopted at the Legislative Summit on February 23, 2020

Explanation and Rationale for Proposed Changes to the Bylaws

- Current Council members will first vote to include Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Virginia, and Pennsylvania into the Council and remove Puerto Rico from the Council (to coincide with USPS Atlantic Area)
- 2. Change the name of Northeast Council to Atlantic Conference in the title and everywhere it appears throughout the document (*reflecting USPS Atlantic Area*)
- 3. Change Northeast Area to Atlantic Area in the Mission Statement and the section titled Members (*reflecting USPS Atlantic Area*)
- 4. Add Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, and Virginia (*alphabetically*) and delete Puerto Rico in the first paragraph, under the section titled Members, and in the first paragraph under the section titled Elections (*for consistency throughout the document and reflecting USPS Atlantic Area*)
- 5. Change terms of office for President and Secretary from two years to one year (ease the workload of organizing a fall conference two years in a row)
- 6. Add new language in the second paragraph of the section titled Elections as stated on page 1 of the draft (to clarify the procedure for electing the President and Secretary) and delete paragraphs three (already stated in paragraph 2) and four (if change in terms of office is adopted)
- 7. Change number of meetings per year from two to three (to include the Fall Conference when meetings are held). This amendment also identifies the quorum and the process by which amendments can be made.

^{**}Note: Next in rotation to elect the President and Secretary at the 2023 National Convention will be New Jersey.