Minutes Carlsbad Soil and Water Conservation District January 8, 2024 6pm In person and Teleconference

Supervisors Present Nathan Jurva

Jim Carr Kristin Pope Henry Vasquez-phone Others Sandi Wilkie – CSWCD Renae Cox-USFS Riki Lopez-CSWCD Katie Kuthraupt-NMDA-phone Rocky Gonzalez- NRCS

Supervisors Absent:, Charles Goodwin, Lupe Carrasco, Fred Beard

Chairman Nathan Jurva called the committee meeting to order at 6:07 p.m.

Jim Carr moved to approve the agenda, Kristin Pope seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Jim Carr moved to approve the minutes from the previous meeting; Henry Vasquez seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Kristin Pope moved to approve the financial reports and pay bills; Jim Carr seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Presentations: None

Unfinished Business

Project Updates

BLM –Just finished about 30,000 acres of creosote treatment, mostly in the Indian Basin. In the next few weeks will treat 4533 acres of Juniper in the Corona area.

New Business

Election of Officers- Jim Carr moved and Kristin Pope seconded to nominate and elect Nathan Jurva as Chairman, Kristin Pope as Vice-chairman, and Jim Carr as Secretary/treasurer. Motion passed unanimously.

Oath of Office- Kristin Pope administered the Oath of Office to Nathan Jurva, Jim Carr and Henry Vasquez.

Mid-Year Budget Resolution-Kristin Pope moved and Jim Carr seconded to approve the resolution. Roll call vote: Nathan Jurva yea, Kristin Pope yea, Jim Carr yea, Henry Vasquez yea, Charls Goodwin abs, Lupe Carrasco abs, Fred Beard abs. Motion passed.

LOE Legacy Fund Grants- Jim Carr moved and Henry Vasquez seconded to approve staff developing grant ideas to submit. Motion passed unanimously.

Brush Control – None

Shade Balls- W. Berry, L. Berry- Jim Carr moved and Kristin Pope seconded to approve the applications. Motion passed unanimously.

NMDA –See attached. NMACD – None USFS –Renae reports that they are still seeking office space. ECES – none CID- none CSWCD –none Others- None.

Adjourn – The meeting adjourned at 7:02 p.m.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Sandi Wilkie

Chairman- Nathan Jurva

Secretary/Treasurer - Jim Carr