

COMMUNITY EDUCATION COUNCIL DISTRICT 15

Office:131 Livingston Street, Room 301, Brooklyn, New York 11201 <a href="https://cechooks.com/c

Resolution To Acknowledge Lunar New Year In The DOE Calendar

The Community and Citywide Education Councils (CCECs) are composed of parents elected or appointed to serve as stakeholders of NYC School Community Districts and specific cohorts of students representing NYC public school students and their families.

On February 16, 2022, the following resolution offers CEC 15's position regarding the acknowledgment of Lunar New Year in the DOE calendar:

WHEREAS, Lunar New Year is an official holiday in New York City;

WHEREAS, Lunar New Year is a 15-day celebration;

WHEREAS, in 2022, the first day of Lunar New Year fell on a weekday and the Department of Education (DOE) appropriately acknowledged the holiday in the 2021-22 school calendar;

WHEREAS, in 2023, the first day of Lunar New Year fell on Sunday, January 22, and the DOE did not officially recognize the holiday nor assign a day off on the following Monday;

WHEREAS, the second day of Lunar New Year is considered the beginning of the year and spent with family;

WHEREAS, Lunar New Year is the most important cultural holiday for billions of people around the globe; and every year, almost 1.5 million residents from across New York City celebrate to honor their Asian heritage.

WHEREAS, the Asian population is over 16% of the total NYC student body; and

WHEREAS, the DOE's lack of recognition of this most important holiday for families of Asian heritage is not inclusive and disappointing.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Department of Education recognizes Lunar New Year as an official annual holiday across NYC public schools, according to the Lunar Calendar, and with a provision to observe the holiday on the following school day if the holiday falls on a weekend.

This Resolution was approved at a CEC15 Business Meeting held on February 16, 2023 by a vote of members present including: Camille Casaretti, Vanessa Ueoka Gonzalez, Antonia Ferraro, Joe Alexander, Nana Poku Agyekum, Ivan Banda, Tia Schellstede, Vincent Lu and Alfred De Ingeniis

The Resolution was voted YES by 9 members.