536 S. Clark St. 6th Floor Chicago, IL 60605



July 19, 2023

Mr. Sam AL-Basha State Hazard Mitigation Officer Illinois Emergency Management Agency 1035 Outer Park Drive Springfield, IL 62704

Dear Mr. AL-Basha:

Thank you for submitting adoption documentation for the 2023 Sangamon County Multi-Jurisdictional Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan Update. The plan was reviewed based on the local plan criteria contained in 44 CFR Part 201, as authorized by the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000. The plan met the required criteria for a multi-jurisdictional hazard mitigation plan, and the plan is now approved for the:

Buffalo	Leland Grove	Sangamon County Water
Chatham	Mechanicsburg	Reclamation District
Curran	Pawnee	Sherman
Dawson	Pleasant Plains	Southern View
Divernon	Riverton	Spaulding
Grandview	Rochester	Springfield
Illiopolis	Sangamon County	Williamsville
Jerome		

The approval of this plan ensures continued availability of the full complement of Hazard Mitigation Assistance (HMA) Grants. All requests for funding, however, will be evaluated individually according to the specific eligibility and other requirements of the particular program under which the application is submitted.

We encourage the communities to follow the plan's schedule for monitoring and updating the plan and continue their efforts to implement the mitigation measures. The expiration date of the 2023 Sangamon County Multi-Jurisdictional Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan Update is five years from the date of this letter. The plan must be reviewed, revised as appropriate, resubmitted, and approved no later than the plan expiration date.

Please pass on our congratulations to the now approved communities for completing this significant action. If you or the communities have any questions, please contact Meghan Cuneo at (202) 615-5294 or Meghan.Cuneo@fema.dhs.gov.

Sincerely,

John Wethington Chief, Risk Analysis Branch Mitigation Division