DONATIONS

All contributions and pledges are gratefully accepted. Cheques can be made out to the MHB & MH Memorial Foundation. A charitable donation tax receipt will be issued for donations of \$25.00 or more.

PLEASE MAIL DONATIONS TO:

The MHB & MH Memorial Foundation

C/O Mr. Jamie Gerson, Secretary 14 Upminster Crescent Etobicoke, Ontario MPB 5W2

647-515-5281

mhbmhfoundationsecretary@gmail.com



FIND MORE INFORMATION UNDER 'FOUNDATION' AT:

www.brcg.on.cg

CONSERVATION

With a commitment to the conservation and education objectives of the Foundation, the Conservation Committee promotes education and conservation study on the property. Natural Heritage Inventories have been conducted involving flora fauna and ecological community surveys. Species at risk, bird and habitat surveys as well as mushroom forays have been conducted, and a self-guided interpretive trail was installed in 2018.



SELF GUIDED INTERPRETIVE TRAIL Learn about the natural and human heritage of the conservation area by taking a walk on the self-guided trail.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

2021/2022 EXECUTIVE

President Carolyn Paterson
Vice-President Cathy Greven
Vice-President Heather Dyer
Secretary Jamie Gerson
Treasurer Rita Bloem

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Gerry Atkin, Nick Baker, Roger Beaman, Nora Dowsett, John Ellis, Andrew Ellis, John Housser, Dick Merritt, Daphne Perry, Dennis Schettler, John Tideman, Rob Fraser, Paule Clifford.

PAST PRESIDENTS:

1968-1968	Sandy Thompson*
1968-1970	Frank Hull
1970-1974	Don Ellis
1974-1977	Graham Atkin
1977-1980	John Broadhead
1980-1984	Bud Allport
1984-1987	John Perry
1987-1990	Geoff Julian
1990-1993	David Burgess
1993-1996	Robert Hutcheson
1996-1996	John Ross
1997-1998	Mary Dyer
1998-2003	Daphne Perry
2003-2006	Nick Baker
2006-2009	Christine Jany
2009-2012	Larry Greenwood
2012-2015	Richard Hogg
2015-2018	Gerry Atkin
2018-2021	Glen Warnica

ADVISORY COUNCIL

Bob Hutcheson Larry Greenwood
Linda Housser Christine Jany
Peter Dowsett

THE MABEL HART BROOK AND MARION HILL MEMORIAL FOUNDATION

(Antioch Conservation Area)



THE OBJECTIVES OF THE FOUNDATION SET OUT IN THE CHARTER READ, IN PART:

"...The sound development in the public interest of appropriate undeveloped lakeland and wilderness regions...through the setting up of conservation areas and preserves suitable for the preservation of wildlife and to encourage public participation in... research and planning on conservation projects...".

A PLACE TO ENJOY FORESTS AND SHORELINES IN THEIR NATURAL STATE The property is open to the public under rules established in the Charter and by the Board of Directors. A picnic table and an outdoor toilet are provided.

Overnight camping, hunting, introduction or removal of vegetation, and open fires are not permitted. Visitors are requested to take their garbage home.

The Foundation property consists of 448 acres of land with 3100 feet of beach shoreline on Bella Lake and 300 feet of shoreline on Heck Lake.

We are indeed fortunate in having the Antioch Conservation Area for the use of Foundation members, cottagers, visitors and the general public. There are a variety of events held at the Foundation Beach, such as the Bella Rebecca Community Association's regatta and the annual corn roast. Dedicated Foundation members and cottage volunteers conduct weekly beach clean-up and maintenance services.



The Mabel Hart Brook and Marion Hill Memorial Foundation (the Foundation) was established in 1967 through the foresight of the late Sanford (Sandy) Thompson and others in the area. Their purpose was the purchase and preservation of the property on Bella Lake known locally as "Second Sandy Beach" and "Norway Point". With the help of dedicated directors and members, funds were raised from pledges and donations to purchase and preserve this outstanding property for the use and enjoyment of future aenerations.

The original 228 acres of land was purchased on March 28, 1968, from Marion Hill of Limberlost Lodge. On August 29, 1986, an additional 200 acres was purchased and contains the pioneer homestead known as Antioch Mission.

THE FOUNDING DIRECTORS:

Graham Atkin, Frank Hull, Emil Jensen, Dean Maxwell, Col. Jack Perry, John Perry, Fred Pugh, Sandy Thompson, Vivian Thompson, Doug Tideman, William Wagner.

Since 1998, the lands owned by the Foundation have been subject to the Conservation Land Tax Incentive Program, and are classified as "Other Conservation Lands". The CLTIP recognizes, encourages and supports the long-term stewardship of Ontario's significant conservation lands.

The Foundation is named after two wonderful pioneer women who strived to preserve the land they loved in its natural state.

MABEL (BILLIE) HART BROOK:

Mabel (Billie) Hart Brook, an original settler of the area, contributed tirelessly to the local community. Raised close to the present Billie Bear Resort site on Bella Lake, Mabel ran Camp Billie Bear from 1905 to 1945. A high spirited and legendary figure in the Algonquin Highlands, Billie was selfless, friendly and a benefactor to many!

MARION HIGGINS HILL:

Marion Higgins Hill spent many teenage summers in the area. In 1922, she visited the new Limberlost bungalow camp on Lake Solitaire, married owner Gordon Hill and ran Limberlost Lodge for many years. An adventurous, enthusiastic and dedicated naturalist, Marion's dream was to someday turn over her Bella Lake property to field naturalists who shared her enjoyment and study of the area.



The Foundation was **chartered under the laws of the Province of Ontario** on December 13, 1967. There are two types of membership:

VOTING MEMBERSHIP:

The Foundation does not have share capital, but persons making donations and admitted as members will be entitled to vote as follows: one vote is allowed when a donation totals \$100. A member may accumulate a maximum of 25 votes. The bylaws provide that:

"...each member entitled to vote may irrevocably transfer during the member's lifetime by a written declaration filed with the Corporation, or by Will, some or all of the votes to which the member is then entitled, to a brother, sister, husband, wife, son, daughter, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, grandson, granddaughter, nephew or niece."

NON-VOTING MEMBERSHIP:

Members contributing less than \$100 are non-voting members. However, donations can be accumulated over time. When \$100 is reached, one (1) voting right is granted.

MEMBERSHIP FEE:

There is an additional annual administrative fee of \$10 for all members to ensure member contact information is kept up-to-date. Members who do not or cannot remit the annual fee would relinquish their membership, hence their voting rights, however may, on payment of all unpaid dues, be reinstated by the Board of Directors

ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE

Canada Revenue Agency has designated the Foundation as a Charitable Organization for Income Tax purposes within the provisions of the Income Tax Act.

The Foundation is managed by a Board of Directors and it's Executive. Directors are elected at an Annual General Meeting in July by present and proxy membership. Currently, there are approximately over 240 Foundation members.

In 1985, the Board of Directors established an Advisory Council of senior directors who had served for a minimum of ten years or who had been a Past President. Advisory Council members serve for life, or until they resign. The President of the Bella-Rebecca Community Association serves as an ex-officio Director during his/her term in office.