

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Wednesday, October 30, 2024 Contact: Betsy Theroux (404) 656-3996 <u>betsy.theroux@house.ga.gov</u> Kehl Mackesey (404) 656-7589 kehl.mackesey@house.ga.gov

Rep. Regina Lewis-Ward Hosts Second Black Farmer's Ball Event

ATLANTA – State Representative Regina Lewis-Ward (D-McDonough) recently hosted the second Black Farmer's Ball event on Friday, October 25, 2024. This year's theme was "We are Farmers Too," and the event aimed to honor the contributions of Black farmers and highlight the importance of agriculture equity.

"I am thrilled to host this event again and recognize the incredible hard work of our Black farmers," said Rep. Lewis-Ward. "The event is about celebrating their achievements and fostering stronger ties with officials who can champion policies that ensure that these farmers continue to thrive. Together, we can build a more equitable future for agriculture and food justice."

U.S. Congressman Sanford Bishop gave the welcome address, and U.S. Senator Jon Ossoff shared remarks at the event via video. The keynote speaker for the event was State Deputy Director of the Farm Service Agency of the U.S. Department of Agriculture Nikki Thomas.

The event honored farmers with individual awards, including: Handy Kennedy Jr., HK Farm, Cobbtown, Ga., Lifetime Achievement Award; Jamaal Jackson, Jackson Farms, Brooks County, Ga., Legacy Farmer Award; Evelyn Fitzgerald of Fitzgerald's Garden of Goodies, Douglas County, Ga., Small Producer Award; and Twyla Jackson of NuTerra Research and Development, Floyd County, Ga., Climate-Smart Award. Lastly, Executive Director of Georgia College and State University's Rural Studies Institute Dr. Veronica Womack received the Champion Farmer Award.

Representative Regina Lewis-Ward represents the citizens of District 115, which includes portions of Henry County. She was elected to the House of Representatives in 2020 and currently serves on the Agriculture & Consumer Affairs, Banks & Banking, Energy, Utilities & Telecommunications and Interstate Cooperation committees.

###