# BY-LAWS OF GREGG NECK PARK CIVIC IMPROVEMENT ASSOCIATION, INC.

#### ARTICLE I

This Association shall be called THE GREGG NECK PARK CIVIC IMPROVEMENT ASSOCIATION, INC.

#### ARTICLE II

The purpose for this Association shall be: (the same as the Articles of Incorporation).

### ARTICLE III

An Applicant for membership in this Association shall be: Any property owner in the development known as Gregg Neck Park, Kent County, Maryland.

## ARTICLE IV

The revenue of this Association shall accrue from dues, donations, contributions, proceeds from entertainment and income from any of its property.

#### ARTICLE V

- Section 1: The Officers of this Association shall be: President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer.
- Section 2: The President shall be a Director, and shall preside over all meetings of the Board of Directors and shall have general management and direction of the business of the Corporation, subject to the direction, supervision and control of the Board of Directors.
- Section 3: The President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer are to be elected for a term of two (2) years. A nominating committee consisting of three (3) members in good standing at the Fall Meeting shall be appointed each year for the purpose of selecting candidates for the expiring offices. Such a report shall be submitted to the Secretary to be included in the notification to the Members at least one week prior to the regular Spring Meeting. Election and installation of Officers shall be held at the Spring Meeting.

## ARTICLE VI

- Section 1: The Association shall have a total of nine (9) Directors. They include the President, the Past-President, Vice President, Treasurer, and Secretary and four (4) elected Directors. The term of the elected Directors is to be two (2) years. Two of the Directors are to be elected at the Spring Meeting in odd years and two Directors are to be elected at the Spring Meeting in even years.
- Section 2: Board of Directors will appoint a qualified person to serve the remaining term of any Officer or Director vacated prior to its full term.
- Section 3: The Board of Directors shall meet annually, within two months of the Spring Meeting, and other Board Meetings as necessary called by the President. They shall initiate recommendations to be presented for approval at a membership meeting. They shall act on matters referred to them by a membership meeting.
- Section 4: A majority of the Board of Directors shall constitute a quorum to transact business.

Section 5: The Board shall have authority to approve expenditures up to \$500.00 aggregate per year for non-budgeted items as necessary.

#### ARTICLE VII

- Section1: The Association shall have three (3) standing committees: Beach, Roads, and Boat Ramp. The Chairman of each committee shall be appointed by the President as the occasion requires. Recommendations by the Chairman for expenditures are to be approved at the membership or directors meetings.
- Section 2: The Chairman of the Beach Committee shall acquire volunteers to maintain the Oxford Avenue Beach Pier and Float, and to seasonally launch and remove the float along with the Safe Bathing Area ropes.
- Section 3: The Chairman of the Roads Committee shall acquire volunteers to assist in maintaining the roads of the Association.
- Section 4: The Chairman of the Ramp Committee shall acquire volunteers to assist in maintaining the Association's boat ramp area at the end of Gregg Neck Road.

#### ARTICLE VIII

All amendments or changes to the By-Laws shall be presented in written form to all members at least seven (7) days prior to a regular meeting or referred to a committee and acted upon at a special or the next regular meeting.

By-Laws will incorporate Guidelines based on past experience for Officers, Directors and Committees to follow at their discretion in conducting the business of the Association.

#### ARTICLE IX

The regular meetings of this Association shall be the Spring Meeting held on Sunday before Memorial Day weekend and the Fall Meeting held on Sunday after Labor Day weekend at the time and place designated by the President.

#### ARTICLE X

Dues shall be determined by the Board and approved by a majority of members in good standing at the Fall Meeting.

Dues shall be payable January 1 each year. Any member who has not paid dues before the Spring Meeting will be dropped from membership and shall have no vote.

### ARTICLE XI

It shall be the duty of the President to preside at all meetings, call special meetings, and appoint committees.

### ARTICLE XII

It shall be the duty of the Vice President to perform the duties of the President in his absence.

#### ARTICLE XIII

It shall be the duty of the Secretary to keep the minutes and records of the Association and to send notices to members, to handle correspondence of this Association, and between meetings, to refer urgent papers to the proper committee.

#### ARTICLE XIV

- Section 1: It shall be the duty of the Treasurer to hold the funds of the Association and deposit the same in a bank designated by the Directors; to pay all warrants duly approved by the Association; to present a statement of the condition of the Treasury at each regular meeting; to send dues notices. Any two of four officers (President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary) are required and authorized to sign Association checks.
- Section 2: In the absence of the Treasurer, the Secretary shall perform these duties

#### ARTICLE XV

Each property owner or group shall represent one vote. It shall be the President's responsibility to determine those who are eligible to vote.

Notice of meeting, agenda and ballot for voting issues shall be sent out before upcoming regular meetings. Eligible members who wish to vote but cannot attend the meeting may submit their ballot to the President, Vice President or Secretary before the meeting date.

This By-Law Revision was approved by ballot vote of the Community on September 9, 2007.

President	Stanley Vanderslice
Vice President	Scott Sanders
Director	Joyce Meers
Director	Barbara Mamlet
Director	Richard Walls
Director	David Bender
Past President	Kathleen Leeks Enion
Treasurer	Jack Stonaker
Acting Secretary	Kathleen Leeks Enion