# Julia Berg Memorial Award

We established the Julia Berg Memorial Award to recognize students at Southwest High School who distinguish themselves by standing up and speaking out on issues that are important to them and their community. It is not an award for community service, as important as that may be. It is not an award for academic leadership or involvement in student organizations, although such leaders may well be candidates for the award. It is an award for a student who has stepped out of the mainstream and has acted in support of a principle, the underdog, or the disadvantaged. It is an award for a student who walks the talk and who expresses his or her ideals in acts of courage and conscience.

## Class of 2006

• Chelsea Zimmerman (Grant to Simpson Homeless Shelter)

#### Class of 2007

• Stephanie LaFayette (Grant to Mayflower Church housing project)

#### Class of 2008- Julia's class

- Mathilde Mouw (Grant to Achieve/Minneapolis for "Out4Good");
- Dannie Paskewitz (Grant to Children's Hospitals and Clinics for "Child Life Services");
- Jorge Almaraz Alvillar (Grant to La Escuelita)

#### Class of 2009

• Jared Smith (Grant to Minnesota Association for Children's Mental Health)

#### Class of 2010

• Christina Nelson (Grant to Kiva)

#### Class of 2011

• Fue Yea Vue (Grant to Linden Hills Library)

#### Class of 2012

• Morgan Wilcock (Grant to Justin's Gift through OutFront MN)

#### Class of 2013

• Eden Rosenbloom (Grant to Wilderness Inquiry)

#### Class of 2014

• Eva Mulloy (Grant to UN Association of the USA, for "Girl Up" Campaign)

## Class of 2015

• Hillary Cumbe

## Class of 2016

• Renn Elkins (The Ali Forney Center)

# Class of 2017

• Madeline Peak (The Bridge for Youth)

# Class of 2018

• David Ayers-Moran (The Trevor Project)

## Class of 2019

• Alycia Pearl Townsend (Bat Conservation International)

# Class of 2020

• Morgan Stascavage (The Bridge for Youth)

# Class of 2021

• Bella Rodman

## Class if 2022

• Ilias Abdullahi

## Class of 2023

• Madeleine Martin (Migizi Communications)

## Class if 2024

• Izzy Streff (Days for Girls)

## Class of 2025

• Fynn Tiessen (Friends of the Mississippi River)