## ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

The Union Ditch/Virgil Ditches & East Branch Kishwaukee River Watershed Based Planning Project was made possible by a grant from the Clean Water Act Section 319(h) Assistance and the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency, Bureau of Water and the DeKalb County Community Foundation distributed to the County of DeKalb through the Planning, Zoning and Building Department.

Considerable time and energy and in kind support was provided by the Union Ditch/Virgil Ditch & East Branch Kishwaukee River Watershed Planning Steering Committee (Watershed Planning Steering Committee) which provided oversight of the planning process for this project, comprised of the following members, Brian Gregory, Sycamore City Administrator; Dean Johnson, DeKalb County Soil & Water Conservation District; Jeremy Lin, Engineer, Maple Park; Karen Miller, Kane County Development Department; Paul Miller, DeKalb County Stormwater Management Planning Committee; Donna Prain, Stormwater Management Planning Committee; Nathan Schwartz, DeKalb County Engineer; Roger Steimel, Stormwater Management Planning Committee/Cortland-Pierce Drainage District; and Anita Zurbrugg, Program Director, DeKalb County Community Foundation. This Committee benefited greatly from the dedicated, professional and effective leadership of Chair, Dean Johnson.

Special acknowledgement goes to students of Northern Illinois University from the departments of Biology, Geology, and Environmental Studies, under the direction of Carl von Ende, Department of Biological Sciences; Melissa Lenczewski and Sheldon Turner, Department of Geology and Environmental Geosciences Department of Geology, Environmental Science Consortium. Working with them were students of Sycamore High School under the instruction of Scott Horlock, Biology Teacher, Sycamore High School. Together, these students and instructors coordinated and collected data and provided research for portions of the studied watershed. The rewards for student involvement were extensive, as stated by Scott Horlock:

The opportunities for our students have been incredible. They have not only learned about the environment in their back yard while working alongside of Professors from NIU but they have developed a sense of civic responsibility and started to build relationships with members of county government and other agencies. The students who attended the informational meeting on the watershed were beaming with pride when they saw and heard the information that Deanna [Doohaluk] presented and they helped to collect. On top of all of this, the 4 students primarily involved in this project have received numerous college scholarships in part because of the experiences they have had with the watershed project.

Significant appreciation is attributed to presenters at community outreach workshops and events held throughout the course of the 18-month watershed planning process, including: Dewey Barnes, Ideal Industries, Fred Busse, Public Works Director, City of Sycamore; Brent Denzin, Partner, Attorney at Law, Ancel Glink, Diamond, Bush, DiCianni & Krafthefer, Chicago; Deanna Doohaluk, Water Resource Planner, Vince Mosca and Jeff Wickenkamp, Hey and Associates, Inc.; Dan Gibble, Executive Director, Sycamore Park District; Dean Johnson, Resource Conservationist, DeKalb County Soil & Water Conservation District; Michael Konen, Soil Scientist, Associate Professor, Geography Department, Northern Illinois University; Paul Miller, Director, DeKalb County Planning, Zoning and Building Department, Donna Prain, High School Biology Teacher; Michael Richolson, District Conservation, USDA NRCS; Al Roloff and Terry Hannon, DeKalb County Forest Preserve, Amy Burns Walkenbach, Manager, Watershed Management Section, Illinois EPA; Anita Zurbrugg, Program Director, DeKalb County Community Foundation.

The many contributors to the planning process and through in-kind and/or technical support include: City of Sycamore; DeKalb County Farm Bureau; DeKalb County Community Foundation Land Use Committee; DeKalb County Forest Preserve District; DeKalb County Highway Department; DeKalb County Health Department; DeKalb County Stormwater Management Planning Committee; DeKalb County Economic Development Corporation; DeKalb County Soil and Water Conservation District; Kane/DuPage Soil and Water Conservation District; Kane County Forest Preserve, Kishwaukee River Ecosystem Partnership; Sycamore Park District; Town of Cortland; Village of Maple Park; and the Cortland-Pierce, Virgil-Cortland, Coon Creek, Virgil #1 & #3, Union #3 Drainage Districts.

Special thanks is noted for the thorough and professional work of Project Consultant, Deanna Doohaluk, Water Resource Planner, Hey and Associates, Inc.

And finally, the project would not have been possible without the capable and inspiring leadership and guidance of Paul Miller, Director, and Rebecca Von Drasek of the DeKalb County Planning, Zoning and Building Department.

Union Ditch/Virgil Ditch Watershed Steering Committee June, 2014