IAB President's Report 2014-2016

Angela Ballantyne and Soren Holm

In 2014 the election of Board members was delayed due to the proposed constitutional changes. At the conclusion of his two year term as president, on May 5th 2014, Angus Dawson proposed that Soren Holm (then Vice-President) be appointed as President; this was unanimously accepted by the Board. Soren served as President from 2014 until 2016. Angela was elected as President, following the election of the new Board and Officers, on 4th March 2016. Angela will serve a reduced term of 12 months in order fit the revised schedule of elections following the adoption of the revised Constitution (see the Secretary's Report 2016 for more details). This report has been jointly prepared by Soren and Angela.

Membership: At the Edinburgh World Congress 2016, membership fees were Tier 1: £70, Tier 2: £50 Tier 3 (students, ECRs and LICs): £15. These were unchanged from the fees charged in Mexico. The decision to make membership fees a compulsory part of Congress attendance was undertaken prior to Rotterdam in 2012. All 673 delegates registered for the Congress are current members of IAB. We believe it would be timely to re-evaluate how this is working, to get feedback from the Conference Organisers in Edinburgh, and to consider both the compulsory nature of the fees and the level of the fees. This is on the agenda for the Edinburgh Board meetings.

Board meetings: We regret that at the Edinburgh Congress we were not able to arrange the General Meeting to occur post the Board meetings. Much of the Board's work for 2016 will be conducted at the Board meetings, so we will therefore not be able to report on this work for the GM. However minutes will be made available on the new IAB website.

Future Congress: The 2018 Congress will be held in New Delhi, India. The call for bids for the 2020 Congress was distributed on the 5th of April 2016 and bids were due prior to the 2016 Congress. Bids will be considered at the Board meetings in Edinburgh.

Nominations committee: As per article 10.5 of the Constitution the Nominations committee for the 2017 Board election has been formed and consists of: Florencia Luna, Soren Holm, and Marcel Verweij.

IAB Advisory Board: In Seoul 2013, the Board voted to establish an IAB Advisory Board, consisting of non-voting members, to provide advice, guidance and support to the IAB Board. The Advisory Board will be composed of IAB ex-presidents, previous IAB Congress organisers and any other person voted for by 10/15 Board members. Due to delays arising from the constitutional changes and the moving Secretariat, we have not yet established the Advisory Board. This is on the agenda for the Edinburgh Board meetings.

Secretariat: Since 2012 the Secretariat has been managed by Angus Dawson and was moved first to Birmingham and then to Sydney. We want to acknowledge and thank Angus for his on-going work on behalf of the Board. We are excited to launch the new IAB website. Moving the Secretariat from the Philippines was necessary due to problems with processing membership payments in the Philippines. When Angus moved from Birmingham to Sydney, the secretariat was again shifted. These moves have resulted in substantial disruption of the daily function of the Board, most notably

the seven month delay in processing the 2015 election results, but also the also the Board's ability to communicate with members. Currently nearly all Board communication and work currently goes through Angus (bidding process for Congresses, communication with external partners, communication with members, management of the website, management of all funds). In our view, this places a significant workload on Angus (a senior and very busy academic), serves as a potential bottleneck to workflow, and is a potential concern regarding sustainability. Sustainability and workflow for the secretariat will be discussed during the Edinburgh Board meetings.