IAB Secretary's Report 2014-2016 Angela Ballantyne and Marcel Verweij

Angela Ballantyne served as secretary from June 2012 until February 2016. Marcel Verweij served as secretary from February 2016 onwards. This report has been jointly prepared. There was no secretariat support for the period 2012-2014 as Angus Dawson was in the process of moving the secretariat from the Philippines to Birmingham. The secretariat functioned for a short period in late 2014 in Birmingham and then was disrupted when Angus moved to Sydney and negotiated to shift of the secretariat to Sydney. Lucy Milton served as an administrative assistance 0.4FTE in Birmingham from July 2014, and was replaced by Jo-Ann Lloyd in early 2015.

Meetings: Angela was not able to attend the Mexico Board meetings in 2014 as she was then on maternity leave. Minutes for this meeting were prepared by Angus Dawson. There was no Board meeting held in 2015.

Constitutional Revisions: Discussion of Constitutional revisions was first initiated in Rotterdam 2012 at the General Meeting and Board meetings. An IAB Board sub-committee was established in Seoul 2013 to undertake the constitutional revisions discussed during the GM in Rotterdam. The sub-committee comprised Angus Dawson, Michael Selgelid, Chamu Kuppuswamy and Angela Ballantyne. The draft revisions were considered by the Board and then were circulated prior to IAB Mexico and presented for discussion at the GM in Mexico 2014, members had the opportunity to submit written comments. The final proposed Constitution was emailed to members on 18 September 2014 and voting closed on the 24th October 2014 (9.00AM GMT). On behalf of the secretariat, Lucy Milton (Birmingham) served as the returning officer and announced the results of the vote via email on 29 October 2014. 87 people voted in relation to the suggested constitutional changes; 86 voted 'yes' and 1 voted 'no'. An affirmative vote of two-thirds of the members voting was required, and therefore then new Constitution was accepted.

One substantive change in the Constitution was a reduction of the number of Board members from 25 to 15. Through a combination of members finishing their term, volunteers retiring from the Board, and a lottery, the existing Board were reduced to seven members and an election was held to select eight new members.

Election of the new Board members. Jo-Ann Lloyd (Birmingham University) was the returning officer for the election but during this process, Angus Dawson moved from

Birmingham to Sydney, Jo-Ann finished her employment with the secretariat, and therefore Angus took over as the returning officer. Ballots were sent out via email on 19 May 2015 and closed on 8 June 2015. 98 votes were received. The election results were announced on February 3rd 2016 by Angus Dawson. This extensive delay in the processing and announcement of the election results was due to Angus moving to Sydney and the associated disruption and reestablishment of the secretariat.

Election of officers was conducted via email between 3rd February and 4th March. The current Board consists of:

- 1. Angela Ballantyne [President]
- 2. Akira Akabayashi (new)
- 3. Paulina Tindana (new)
- 4. Marcel Verweij (new) [Secretary]
- 5. Thalia Awari (new)
- 6. Vardit Ravitsky (new) [Treasurer]
- 7. Yali Cong (new)
- 8. Søren Holm
- 9. Florencia Luna
- 10. Jacqueline Chin
- 11. Michael Selgelid
- 12. Daniel fu-Chang Tsai [Vice-President]
- 13. Vilhjálmur Árnason
- 14. Raul Jiminez Pina (new)
- 15. Anant Bhan (new)

Year	Number of Votes Polled
2015	98
2011/12	76
2009	66
2007	92
2005	136
2003	117

Election process 2017: In recognition of the delay caused by moving the secretariat to Sydney, the new Board endorsed (via email February 2016) the following proposal for the timing of future elections.

- The current Board, and newly elected officers, will serve a shortened term from February 2016 to early 2017. The usual term is two years.
- The next elections will be held early-2017 (for both new Board members and new officers). 'Old' members of the Board would be removed in early 2017, 'new' members would stay on until 2019, and an additional seven members would be elected in 2017. This would mean that the officers elected now (2016) will serve a reduced term of 12 months rather than the standard 2 years.
- Hold elections two yearly from then (2019, 2021 etc).

 Each election cycle, the outgoing Board would have 6-12 months to deal with all the post Congress paperwork and the incoming Board would have 12-18 months to liaise with the next Congress Committee.

Communication: Criticism was received from the members at the 2012 GM regarding lack of sufficient communication between the Board and members. The Board is aware of this and has been frustrated by the on-going, but unavoidable, delay in establishing a functional secretariat. We have endeavoured to communicate via group email, and on the facebook page. Soren, Angus and Angela have been involved in the design of the new IAB website. We had expected the IAB website to be up and running in February 2016 and again have been frustrated at the delay. We anticipate that the website will be live prior to the Edinburgh Congress and that in future, communication with members will be more regular and the Board more accessible. The new IAB email address is iab.contact@sydney.edu.au