MINUTES SAN JUAN COUNTY FIRE DISTRICT #4 BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Regular Meeting January 21, 2020

Chair Rebecca Smith called the early starting regular meeting of the Board of Fire Commissioners for SJCFD #4 to order at 3:00 PM. The meeting held at the District Office that is located at 2228 Fisherman Bay Road on Lopez Island.

Those present at 3:00 PM were Commissioners Rebecca Smith and Duane Bordvick, Chief J Havner, and staff Susan Sanchez. Applicants to be interviewed were Ken Burtness and Phil Paige.

Both candidates were asked to explain their experience and why they were interested in the Fire Commissioner's position.

At 3:28 PM Chair Smith asked that the candidates to step out of the room for approximately ten minutes and called for Executive Session under RCW 42.30.110 (g) to discuss Personnel.

At 3:40 PM in open session, Chair Smith asked both candidates to return to the meeting. She thanked Ken Burtness for his time and applying for the position. Chair Smith offered Phil Paige the #1 Fire Commissioner position to replace resigning Fire Commissioner Jim Lett. Phil Paige accepted the position.

There were two applications for the Administrative Assistant Position of which neither had a strong financial and accounting background. They Commissioners decided they would like to extend the filing period and place ads in all three local papers with a return application deadline of Friday, February 14th.

Guests from LIHD Iris Graville, and volunteer EMTs Megan Constable and Paul White were present for the regular meeting at 4:00 PM.

PROCEDURAL ITEMS

There was no **Public Input.**

The following **Correspondence** was submitted:

- An email from John Kulseth, SJC Assessor dated 12-19-19 regarding the collection of the under levied refund amount from last year for \$2,593.14.
- An Interlocal Agreement with San Juan County and San Juan County Fire District #4 dated 1-1-20 regarding the 2020 Dispatch Services for a period of five years. Commissioner Bordvick made a **motion** to approve the agreement

- with SJCFD#4's share for dispatch service is \$25,497.65 for the 2020 year which is \$2,124.80 per month. Commissioner Paige seconded the motion, all approved and the agreement was signed.
- A Supervising Physician Agreement between SJCFD#4 and Joshua Corsa, M.D. to provide mutually agreed on-line medical control, training and oversight for ALS and BLS to SJCFD#4 personnel members. This agreement replaces Dr. Sullivan as MPD starting January 1, 2020 until requested termination by either party. Commissioner Bordvick made a **motion** to approve the agreement. Commissioner Paige seconded the motion, all approved and the agreement was signed. Chair Smith suggested that the Commissioners take turns to meet with Dr. Corsa quarterly.
- Fire Chief J Havner's contract will be discussed under Board Member Items in Executive session.

Minutes

Chair Smith made a **motion** to approve the Regular meeting minutes of **December 17, 2019**. Commissioner Bordvick making the second, all approved, motion carried.

Vouchers and Payroll

Commissioner Bordvick made a **motion** to approve the December 2019 vouchers for \$7,594.14 and the January 2020 vouchers for \$21,157.25 and the staff payroll for \$36,367.25 Commissioner Paige making the second, all approved, motion carried.

REPORTS

The Chief's Report, Fire Suppression, EMS, Revenue/Expense Reports were reviewed. Some of the highlights were:

- The call volume total for 2018 was 601 and 533 for 2019.
- There is a First Aid and Stop the Bleed class scheduled in January.
- We still have the County's reserve engine.
- The County radio system will be on the February ballot. The Chief is planning community informational meetings at the Family Resource Center and at the Senior's lunch.
- The Washington State Ecology Spills is delayed until spring of 2020.
- The FEMA awarded County grant for the SCBAs had demonstrations on January 3, 4, 5, 2020. This was a well done evaluation process and provided great interagency collaboration.
- Chair Smith reviewed the EMS reports from the last three years to compare changes that were important to know about with a lid lift being addressed this year. Some of the differences were regarding the way the clinic has changed

Minutes January 21, 2020 Page 3.

their practices and how we have done things different with our patients because of their changes, and transports using the Sheriff's boat.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

EMERGENT CARE DISUSSION – Chief Havner said that Paramedic Michelle McDarmont provided training sessions for LIFRC staff. The LIFRC staff learned how to take blood pressures and pulse rates as part of the LIFRC Open Source Wellness Program. This program helps participants tackle obstacles to self-health with the intent of reducing injury and illness. LIFE EMS members will continue to be a "backstop" for the LIFRC staff to answer questions and provide support while this program gets up and running.

- He also stated that the clinic is looking for a new manager to replace Dr. Halprin.
- The Hospital District representative Iris Graville said they were renewing the clinic contract with UW Hospital for another three years. Commissioner Bordvick would attend their meeting next Wednesday.

LEVY DISCUSSION – Chair Smith said that the plan was to place our levy on the ballot in the September primary. They would try to plan on a work retreat the week of March 9th if everyone was available.

NEW BUSINESS

RESTRUCTURE OF BOARD POSITIONS – After some discussion the Commissioners decided that Rebecca Smith would continue to be Chair and Commissioner Duane Bordvick would become Vice Chair. All agreed.

BOARD MEMBER ITEMS

At 5:15 PM Chair Smith called for Executive Session under RCW 42.30.110 (g) to discuss Personnel for approximately fifteen minutes. At 5:29 PM Chair Smith opened session. Commissioner Bordvick made a motion to approve the Employment Agreement between SJCFD#4 and J.M. Havner-Fire Chief from January 1, 2020 through December 31, 2020. Commissioner Paige seconded the motion, all approved, agreement signed.

Chair Smith adjourned the regular meeting at 5:30 PM.					
Chair Rebecca Smith	Secretary Susan Sanchez				